MOM HACKS #04: CHOCOLATE WAFER BIRTHDAY CAKE

in #esteem5 years ago

My first born will be turning seven (7) by tomorrow! My my how times flies so fast. My baby boy has grown so much over the years. Don't make me cry kid! Let us get over to the baking before I started running down the memory lane..

Anyhow, he had requested me that we will have to bake our own birthday cake. And by which he meant for a moist chocolate cake. He is not a fan of chiffon cakes unless its an Ube Chiffon Cake. I don't get it, why do kids love anything with ube flavor? My boys loves them a lot including our next door toddler neighbor. Its weird! Haha basically because I am not a fan of Ube except however if its homemade ube jam. Actually, that is one of my cravings these days (FYI I am not pregnant!.. Im just always hungry!). Its hard to find suppliers making authentic ube jam. I dont like those products who used food coloring in injecting ube flavors.

And Noooooo! The cake won't be ube flavored!!! Hahahaha over my dead sexylicious curvalicious boooody kid..
😂✌...no no no no!

We decided to make our own because the birthday cakes that are bought in bakeries are quite expensive. The price range is between Php500-800 ($9-15) depending on designs and sizes. Mostly, those cakes are chiffon based only. The price for a moist chocolate cake is a little higher. And if you ordered a customized cake, its much much higher too. Professional bakers do charge a lot especially if its a fondant type of cake. I wish I know how to do a fondant.. 😐

I always love baking chocolate cakes. Why? simply because for me its a one bowl recipe, less bowls to wash! Hahaha.. And you do not need a mixer too! You can just use a whisk all throughout. Make sure you have strong arms.. 😉


So, this is the birthday cake! What do you think?

Moist Chocolate Wafer Birthday Cake

u7ftrwiab0.jpg


The recipe is not mine, I got it from Mr Google and I forgot from whom it was for its been years since I had it. Though, through my experience I have done a little alterations to suit the moist and decadence and chocolatey cake I wanted. It took me several attempts to perfect the recipe. My family and friends have been asking for it and sometimes I accept little orders. I cannot do full time because my me time is limited because of little Mãli, my whole and a half attention is on my kids. And we don't have a helper during the night. Basically, I am the mom/wife/helper/nanny/playmate/etc, I'm all that and more!

Good news ----> I'm gonna share my secret, keep on reading..


Ingredients
Cake Base
Dry Ingredients

  • 2 cups sugar ( i used 1cup white and 1cup brown)
  • 1 3/4 all purpose flour (apf)
  • 3/4 cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp fine salt

Wet Ingredients

  • 2 whole eggs and 1 egg yolk
  • 1 cup evaporated milk or buttermilk
  • 1 cup boiling water with 2 tsp coffee
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Procedure

  1. Preheat your oven. We have different oves so adjust to your won setting as I am only using a small convection oven. And brush your pan with oil or butter and dust off some APF or cocoa pwder on the bottom and sides. Basically all sides so that the cake won't stick once it cooled down. You can use parchment paper too so it would be easy to remove the cake from the pan.

  2. Sift all together the dry ingredients in one big bowl. Yes, you read it right, ONE BOWL ONLY! And you will have to use it till the end, make sure its really big. Blend well using a whisk. Prepare your arms, you will have a lot of arm exercise on this one. Dont you worry, its not that though!

  3. Make a hole in the center because we will incorporate the wet ingredients slowly. We do not want to add them all at once or it will be an epic fail. Trust me!

  4. Add in all the eggs, milk, vanilla extract and oil. DO NOT ADD IN YET THE BOILING WATER NOT UNLESS YOU WANT TO HAVE OMELLETEY CAKE!! Beat I mean whisk the mixture until it will give you a smooth one. More or like three (3) minutes tops.

  5. Then slowly, in three parts, add in the boiling water Id rather call it coffee already, haha.. Coffee / stir / coffee / stir / coffee.

  6. Do not be alarm! Chocolate recipes are usually a bit runny and that is just okay. Yeah I thought of that too during my first time.

  7. Pour them over your desired pans. I used 9x9 square pan here. Do observe that in baking, you need to give ample allowance for the cake to grow. You need atleast one (1) or 3/4 inch from the top. Any excess batter pour it in another pan.

  8. Tap the pan slightly to let go of some air bubbles.

  9. Place the pan in the center and bake it at 150 F° for an hour. You can do the toothpick test in knowing if your cake is done. Insert the toothpick in the middle and if it comes out clean or with a few crumbs, your cake is done. Take it out and let it cool in a rack.

Before

yitmiu8mdi.jpg

After

420bevv9x9.jpg


So while our cake batter is baking we can start prpearing our chocolate ganache. There are several ways to make one. You can use your own or whatever icing you were used to making. I am not used using chocolate bars. I prefer my frosting this way.

Ala Red Ribbon Frosting

  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup apf or cornstarch
  • 1 tall can evaporated milk
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Procedure

  1. Pour in all the ingredients in a cooming pan except for butter. But sift first the sugar, cocoa powder and cornstarch before adding in the milk and vanilla. Blend well.

bsyoqrtmgf.jpg

  1. Constant stirring at a medium heat until you reach the desired consistency or when the mixture becomes thick. It usually took me like 30 minutes cooking the frosting.

f6kedqlfrx.jpg

  1. Cut off the fire and now add in the butter for a glowy or shiny mixture. Set it aside and let it cool.

For best results, let the cake and frosting cooled down before you start decorating. I know I know how excited we can get in decorating the cake. When I bake in the evening, I decorate the cake the next day early morning.

When I put on my frosting, I always cut my cake in half so that the middle part also has the frosting. Then spread the remaining frosting on top and sides.

In decorating your cake, be creative! Don't settle for a plain one when you can add on some goodies in. You can use sprinkles, chocolate bars, fruits, flowers... use your imagination! Think what would make your celebrant happy when you give him/her their cake.

I used chocolate wafers because that is one Maque's favorites. I had cut the stick-o wafers into two to stand as walls for the cake. You do not need to cut it perfectly, the uneven cuts will make it look more grand.

h7uqaxk3bm.jpg

Since my mixer was broken, I cannot make a buttercream frosting to further decorate the cake. I was planning to whipped up some cute piped frostings. And so, I just grated out a semi-sweet chocolate bar on top making a thick cover. And added a simple birthday topper and number seven candle.

And that's it! We now have our very own birthday cake!!

We then wake up the celebrant and shower him with smooches everywhere. Mãli copies whatever I do! Hahahaha

Finally, I showed him the cake. He liked it!!!!! Woohoooooo! Success! His approval and happiness is all there is to keep a mother happy.

nhgpq4us1z.jpg


Aftermath

![jad0098p43.jpg](ht tps://img.esteem.ws/jad0098p43.jpg)


4wko2vjm90.jpg



There you have it guys! I hope you get to try it out too in your homes one of this days. I swear it was chocolatey and sinfully delicious! We had no cake leftovers, it was consumed in one day.

Happy baking! Cheers! ❤

Just me,

Maquemali

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by maquemali from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to maquemali! This bot is managed by KiwiJuce3 and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive upvotes on your own posts, you need to join the Kiwi Co. Discord and go to the room named #CurationKiwi. Submit your post there using the command "!upvote (post link)" to receive upvotes on your post. CurationKiwi is currently supported by donations from users like you, so feel free to leave an upvote on our posts or comments to support us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85