This Thanksgiving

in #esteem6 years ago

Dear Daniel Craig,


It’s been interesting. I laid off all writing for 4 days before ditching two projects that weren’t working for me and started a script that seems to be firing on all cylinders for now. Also I nominated you for the ICON award at AOF Megafest. I have no idea whether the reel does you justice or not, or if you’ll be picked. I just figured with Something to Believe In going on the festival circuit and being used as a fundraiser and Letters filming next summer it seemed only appropriate that I nominate you.

Now, whether or not you’ll be picked and subsequently whether or not you’ll attend is whole other ball of wax. I hope you do get picked and that you attend the festival. To actually meet you would be well, I fear it would be overwhelming and that I would cry.

I would want you to love Letters to Daniel and understand your role in it. It’s really not about you at all. It’s all my recovery journey and how using you as a safe listener who would believe me and not judge me as I shared my story.

At the same time I’m terrified at the thought of you viewing my work and finding it less than credible. I have doubts about myself as a director and producer. And with Letters to Daniel I have tapped some pretty solid and talented people. My DP is amazing, I watched his It Knows and was floored by how beautiful it looked and how good it sounded. My editor has 22 years experience and I have worked with him before on some of my documentaries.

I probably won’t end up with my first choice for sound because of money. He’s worth every penny, I just may not have it. I do have a back up lined up who’s good just, not as experienced. And my composer is a genius dream. The music he makes is just plain beautiful every time out.

I won’t lie, Letters is my play for the mainstream. It’s a multi-location 40+ cast and crew. It is easily my biggest project. Fortunately I will have Missy on hand directing with my and a line producer.

Sometime I’m plagued by doubt if I have it in me to see it through. It’s my dream. It has been my dream since 2013. I often wonder what I will do once the movie is finished. Letters to Daniel whether it be a blog, book, script, documentary or feature film has been a part of me for so long I think I’ll be need of serious therapy when all is said and done.

The story to get the movie made is a tale grand enough to make a movie of that. But that’s true of any film. Stories within stories.

So you inspired me to create many stories. But you also inspired me in my recovery and led me to my greatest work and self discovery. If for no other reason than to tell you that I hope you are named to the 2019 Class of ICONS at AOF Megafest where we can possibly meet. Your work changed my life profoundly. And for that on this Thanksgiving I am truly thankful.

 

Sincerely,

 

Amy McCorkle


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://g1nbc.net/healing-hands/this-thanksgiving/

Sort:  

Congratulations @lettersgrrl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47