Letting Off A Little Steam

in #esteem6 years ago

Dear Daniel Craig,


Is it too much to ask for a little respect from the local artistic community?

Imaginarium is coming up and I paid $250 to sponsor them. And by God it’s the last time I will ever give money to anything remotely connected with them.

A nerve got touched tonight. I thought they were doing better. I had a nice selection of panels to sit on. Including one with Missy, natch. All In the Family was an Official Selection and I was going to be interviewing and some people for our web series Recovery Unplugged.

Then I got my screening time. My parents won’t miss church to see it. My screening time is Sunday at 12Noon. I’m not listed on the vendor’s page either. I have had it with Imaginarium. They’ve disrespected me since 2016 with an offhand comment about my film, Letters to Daniel: Awareness.

In 2017 it continued with John Risner’s disrespect of both me and Missy as screenwriters and filmmakers. Poor table placement. Singled out at the banquet to let me know my film was up to snuff.

I’ve had it. This is my Imaginarium swan song. I won’t be there next year. They may not miss, but they will miss my check. And since that is really what they see me as well they won’t miss me too much. I used to spend more at Imaginarium than I did any other convention/film festival combined. Those days are long gone.

On a stage where cronyism is entrenched and rampant I deserve way better. And I get way better at AOF Megafest and Indie Gathering.

So as I grind my teeth and gird myself up for what may or may not come, I sought redress and was told Stephen will look into it but he says you’re up there under your name. There’s only one problem with that, there are two other authors at my table.

Both of them talented beyond reason. And Missy feels like a ghost. They always say some people have sour grapes.

NOVA, Enginuity, Clifton Film Celebration, ICFF, LAIFFA, Austin Revolution Film Festival along with AOF, Hollywood Dreamz and Low to No Film Festivals all respect my talent. I may not always win, but I always get a fair shake at these places.

I have two distribution deals for documentaries. People want to work with me. And I’m finally tapping into the local film community for what it’s worth. Imaginarium can be a good time, but it’s not a serious convention.

Save your money and go to legit film festival. And tell them I sent you. There is always room at any of the other festivals to be appreciated for what you do.

 

Sincerely,

 

Amy McCorkle


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://g1nbc.net/healing-hands/letting-off-a-little-steam/

Sort:  

When using this phase on the steem blockchain you have to say "Letting off a little Steem" FYI ;) and great venting post btw...like how you call it as you see it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61226.21
ETH 2715.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45