Advocating

in #esteem6 years ago

Dear Daniel Craig,


My anxiety level is on 100. I left my charger to my computer at the bookstore last night. So I had to drive 45 minutes to get it and 45 minutes to comeback. My schedule got thrown off when my mom called and asked me to stop and get her a latte. I had two appointments to keep. I visited with Mysti Parker for a few and then skeedaddled to Starbucks where I am currently wait for Austin Sheehan, a filmmaker I met at Imaginarium. I should say one of the bright spots of that whole experience.

He has bipolar disorder as well and he made a short film about his experiences with it. A wonderful film. Raw, bracing, gritty and ultimately hopeful. It’s 30 minutes long and I can see where his journey and mine parallel and where they differ.

I got the feeling he wanted to talk bipolar disorder and advocating for yourself. Truly I had people who helped me. He struggles with the costs of medication. If I hadn’t had programs in place I would have more problems than I already do with that issue.

Even though it is cloudy I’m feeling good today. With the exception of my wisdom tooth cutting through. That’s a fresh hell I never expected.

On a good note I have an alternate edit of Something to Believe In coming to me sometime this weekend. I’ll tweak the sound and take a giant leap forward. Wish me luck .

I’ve also completed the first chapter of the part how to part memoir version of Something to Believe In. It feels wonderful to write it but it is slower going but it’s especially meaningful work. Same goes for the documentary.

Mental health advocacy is extremely important to me. I advocate for me and others like me. I have good days and I have bad days. It’s like riding a wave. When I’m creative it feels like a blessing. On the hard days I’m simply grateful to be alive another day.

If I could impart one thing it would be to just breathe and put one foot in front of the other.

Till next time keep fighting the good fight.

Sincerely,

 

Amy McCorkle

 

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://g1nbc.net/healing-hands/advocating/

Sort:  

@lettersgrrl, go and place your daily vote for Steem on netcoins! http://contest.gonetcoins.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61226.21
ETH 2715.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45