Behind the Lens

in #esteem6 years ago

Learn with Thuan Tran

image

Thuan Tran (onlunchbreak) gives us a peek into his work on the streets of New York City. The best images rarely happen in isolation and by glimpsing into a broad take of images from a single shoot, we get a feel for the thoughts that occur behind the lens.

Immerse Yourself

"In a studio, you have to work really hard to tell your story, where as in the street the story is happening 24/7. You just need to find it and document."

Thuan photographs people, mostly on the streets – often on lunch break. Finding time to walk, observe, and photograph creates opportunities to interact with people in many different contexts. His use of wide angle lenses (like those on most mobile phone cameras) is well suited for tight city blocks, forcing him to get in close to his subjects, rather than keeping a distance.
image
"I only shoot with wide lenses. It just physically cuts the distance between me and the subject, and I think that's what allows the subject to open up the most."

Finding Community

"My friends are the thing that motivates me the most. I’m surrounded by young geniuses who I consider to be my best friends, who constantly push the boundaries in their own worlds. This motivates me to make the best work that I can."
image
Community comes in many forms. Having a creative community inspires, challenges, and pushes Thuan in ways he could not do alone. Community can also extend beyond just a group of friends. Growing up a first generation American within a low-income neighborhood allowed Thuan to develop a unique visual voice, and one that he uses to link together many ideas of community.

"I think a lot of things I capture are things I can relate to — I find it even more interesting that these things carry across all communities and cultures."

Symmetry & Distance
image
"I always look at lines in the shot — whether it's a power line or a fence or the top and bottom of a wall. I try to make sure my shot is as symmetrical as possible, and then I focus on the subject and move them closer or further from the camera."

Paying attention to compositional elements allows Thuan to create layers within his images and emphasize subjects within the frame. Working your way from the edges of an image inward is a good approach to make sure every part of the photo sings. Experiment by creating different spatial relationships between subjects through multiple compositions.
image
"Some of my most powerful work is about what's happening in the background."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63966.12
ETH 2753.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66