#Ulog Day Monday: Threadmills Were Invented To Punish The Prisoners?

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

4CD8534F-05D0-4842-B184-5C5E22D25618.jpeg

”Exercise To Be Fit, Not Skinny”

Welcome to:
IMG_1245.GIF

Hola #uloggers! 👋
How was your weekend?

Mine? nothing really special aside from I renewed our gym membership last Saturday and went to gym this morning after one month of no proper exercise.

The past few weeks was so busy and I spend like more than 8 hours sitting and mostly facing the laptop or phone screen doing research and reading for my upcoming birthday trip, my online work, checking my social medias, writing and of ofcource Steemit.

Before I sleep and the next morning as soon as I get up, the first thing I do is to make coffee and checkout my Steemit. So yesterday I was really in the mood for a hiking. I tried to download the trending @actifit on my iphone but found out that it won’t be available in ios untill first week of September and I’m really looking forward to use this amazing app where you can get rewards while getting fit!. How cool is that?
475453F2-4E1B-4796-8959-D17D5ABE9645.jpeg

Anyway, I just went to the gym and did some cardio on the threadmill, 30 minutes cycling and sauna.
29A6C272-DADF-46A5-B217-173419029D0D.jpeg

9CC34BA6-2DD5-482C-8792-C3742FAA8907.jpeg


Threadmill Fun Facts

Did you know?

  • threadmill machine was invented in 1817 to punish the prisoners
  • While on a threadmill, your heart rate should be above 125 beats per minute to burn body fat.

Yes, I thought the Spanish english speaking guy in the gym was just joking about it so when I got home I did search it and yeah, threadmill was invented by an English engineer named William Cubit to punish the prisoners. You can read the whole story here.

Indeed, I didn’t just burn some calories Today,I also learned something new!

That’s all for today #uloggers!


References:

#ulog #life #spain #busy #health #fitness #steemgigs

It Is Important To Vote For Our Witnesses


Consider casting your witness votes for: @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle) , @curie, @cloh76.witness, @yehey, @ausbitbank, @pharesim who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.
To cast your votes, Click here.


Have a joyful day Steemian!

IMG_0565.GIF
Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers. Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Things that we learn everyday. Who would have known that an exercise device was a form of punishment. Everyday devices that are around us have very interesting stories behind them. Stories that are fascinating and shocking at times. Thanks for sharing something to talk about with my buddies at work.

Indeed.
Your welcome @watersnake.
Is your awesome username has a fascinating story behind it also? 😉

Have a nice day kabayan!
Thanks for reading & engaging comment. ❤️

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

The user name does have a story behind it. Almost got bitten once on the beach and from then on watersnake101, always checking my back, choices and decisions in life. It is also my elemental birth year.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by joyrobinson from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

@joyrobinson Well it certainly can deliver punishment still today. A doctor put me on one to check my heart and he didn't know that I cannot run due to a serious motorbike accident! He switched it to "run" and I tore a muscle in my shoulder trying to hang on. Interesting story about its invention! Blessings and upvoted!

Sorry to hear bout the acident and how’s your shoulder now?? Hope all is well now @papilloncharity ❤️

Thank you for visiting my post!

@joyrobinson Wow, you posted this great reply 2v days ago and I only saw it now Lady Joy! Sincere apologies and great to tell you that my shoulder is fine now! Blessings!

No need for apologies @papilloncharity 🤗
Have a nice day!

Congratulations @joyrobinson! This post was selected by the @steemitbloggers community as today's Member Boost Post :) It will also receive a complimentary upvote from @Appreciator throughout the course of the day!

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our Steemit Bloggers FB Page and Twitter feed.

I've never used one, I prefer just going out walking

Your title really got me attracted to the post! I thought it maybe a joke but it happens to be a fact?! Wow.

I have heard about Actifit for a while. Let's see if it really rewards us to work out. Thanks for the post, @joyrobinson :)

#steemitbloggers

Who would have thought... and now we are prisoners to inactivity and have to run on the treadmill after/before office... hmmmmm
Thank you for sharing @joyrobinson 😊

I had no idea about the history behind the treadmill (but it makes sense - lol!). Well done on the workout, and thanks for the tip about @actifit - I might check it out. I've been using the SweatCoin app, but haven't reached any reward levels yet.

Oh, and congrats on the #steemitbloggers daily member boost!


via GIPHY

This post is sponsored by @SteemitBloggers in collaboration with @appreciator. Just keep up the good work.



Yay, thank you! 😇❤️

That makes sense. Every time I've hopped one, I've felt like a prisoner.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81