Upvotes don't Necessarily Mean Quality

in #esteem7 years ago

image
Are you getting frustrated that the posts that you put the most thought into are receiving less upvotes than other posts with little or no content? If so, you need to come to terms that upvotes don't necessarily equate to quality.

The upvote is more of an emotional decision. Sure quality at times comes into play, but sparking that emotion is really what counts.

I believe that I am a normal upvotes. So here is what I find myself reading and upvoting in the most.

  1. The description/title has to peak my interest. Don't undersell the title.

  2. I also look for posts that appear to be very easy to read. I normally use eSteem to browse. So the more "eSteem friendly" you can make your post, the more likely I am to read it in entirety and eventually comment and upvote.

  3. Keep it simple! You need to know your audience. By keeping it simple, you are increasing the likelihood of views. The more people that view will increase upvote potential.

  4. Have an opinion. Don't just restate information. Form and opinion and share it. Give your viewers an opportunity to agree or disagree with you. Sharing your opinion should increase the chances of viewer replies.

  5. Stay at it! It takes time and patience to acquire a following. Be consistent with your approach and upvotes should come.

I would like to hear advice from other Steemians regarding what works for you- please share!

Sort:  

Some good solid info, thx.

Thanks for the information! I think point #5 should be point #1 as that's probably the best advice.

I'm new here, but I think timeless posts are going to do better than ones that are only relevant to the here and now. For instance posts to a travel destination or advice on how to be a better dad will probably do better than Wall Street Market Analysis for 6/27/2017 which will be outdated soon after you write it.

nice one sir..
quality Vs quantity thats the game now.

Welcome to Steemit @joelfriedman68!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74