Helpful Yoga Items For Beginners Like Myself

in #esteem6 years ago

I have very recently started practicing yoga. I would say, it's been only about 6 months now. I still only know very few, relatively easy poses, mainly for stretching my sore muscles after a workout.

I'm also not enrolled in any formal yoga class. I mostly follow instructional yoga videos on YouTube and Instagram. There are literally hundreds, if not thousands, of them available online - all for FREE! My personal favorite is Yoga with Adrienne.

For the past 6 months, the only yoga "tool" I ever used or really needed was the yoga mat, which I already heppened to have long before I started practicing yoga. With the basic poses I was learning, I didn't feel the need for any of the items listed online as "essential" for learning and practicing yoga. But as I get used to these poses, and finding myself wanting to try some of the less-than-basic ones, I realized I need to invest in some of these yoga items to help me out.

So, here's my personal list of helpful yoga items for beginners like myself:

Yoga Mat
image

Sure you can practice yoga pretty much anywhere with or without a mat, but it just makes your practice so much easier and more comfortable. Mats also prevent hands and feet from slipping during practice.

Yoga Strap
image

These straps help with deepening stretches, especially for beginners like me with very limited flexibility.

Yoga Blocks
image source
image

These blocks are often used to add support especially for some poses such as a headstand and the bridge pose.


1 or 2 folded bankets
Folded blankets can be used in many different ways during a yoga practice. They can be used to add cushion for your knees for some extra support and comfort. For some seated postures, the blankets also help tilt the body forward and help you sit more upright.

That's about all I could think of for now. For those of yoy who are more experienced, what other items did you find helpful when you just started practicing yoga? Please feel free to share.

Namaste. 🙏

💜
jazzybells

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83