Honesty can bring us to goodness

in #esteem6 years ago

image

Once, a man came to the Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) and said, "O Messenger of Allah, I have many bad habits. Which one should I stop first? "

He replied, "Stop lying first and always speak the truth."

The man promised to do it and would not commit another offense, then go home. At night, the man goes to steal. Before leaving, he thought for a moment about the advice of the Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) and the promise he had made before him.

"If tomorrow the Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings be upon him) asked me where I am tonight, what shall I say? Should I say that I went to steal? No, I can not say that. But I also can not lie. If I tell the truth, everyone will start hating me and call me a thief. I will be punished for stealing. "
So, the man decided not to steal that night, and stop his bad deed, that is stealing.

The next day, he felt like drinking wine. As he was about to do so, he said to himself, "What should I say to the Prophet Muhammad if he asks me what I have been for all day? I can not lie. but if I tell the truth, people will hate me, because a Muslim does not drink wine. "
So he stopped drinking wine, and managed to get rid of his bad habits.
Hopefully the story above can be an afterthought for us, it turns out that honesty brings goodness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63039.96
ETH 2549.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78