eSteem Desktop v2 - sneak preview as promised!

2 months ago
73 in esteem

I have promised to share sneak preview of the upcoming eSteem desktop version. So here are few screenshots to give you idea what to expect. Remember, eSteem already have announced v1 of the desktop app here and if you change websocket, it is still functional. New version will have different user experience and specially designed for desktop users. App will be available for Windows, Linux and Mac users, will work with any local or global socket connection. This is the grand vision and each component requiring special design pattern and user flow with proper navigation.

Steem on!

Authors get paid when people like you upvote their post.
Join our amazing community to comment and reward others.
Sort Order:  trending
·
73
  ·  2 months ago

😂 Vision and potential is big, it is Exodus/Jaxx of Steem and Graphene!

·
·
56
  ·  17 days ago

glad you have a big vision because i really like exodus! :)

·
·
·
73
  ·  17 days ago

Haha, happy to know that you are seeing where it is going... I too use exodus and eSteem desktop will combination of my experience with all different wallets and of course Steem apps and eSteem mobile...

·
·
·
·
56
  ·  17 days ago

fantastic! - look forward to testing it out, giving feedback, help if i can somewhere, voiceovers, screencasts, graphics if needed.

71
  ·  2 months ago

I am looking forward to it and am curious how it will be. I need it for Mac. Good work my friend!

·
73
  ·  2 months ago

Thank you! Like v1 which is already available for Windows, Mac and Linux, this version will also cover those platforms 😉

68
  ·  2 months ago

Any plans to make this a UWP app? Major kudos on the account creation - that will be a popular feature. I'd also request delegating SP. These are both popular features Steemit.com doesn't offer, so there's a demand you can fill.

·
73
  ·  2 months ago

That might come later date where we can slowly adapt it to mobile as well! Yes Account creation will be possible with Delegation as you can see from one of the screenshots. There are many unique features and many of which is going through Usage and Design patterns to prioritize sequency of action which I am really looking forward to see how users will use it with ease 😊

·
·
68
  ·  2 months ago

Great to hear! I meant delegating SP to existing users, by the way. Fair amount of demand for that. Eagerly awaiting v2!

·
50
  ·  2 months ago

Oh man if you make a UWP app that would be great. Could use something like xamarin to make it work with iOS and Android as well! I'm so happy I'm not the only one that's totally down with that haha.

·
·
68
  ·  2 months ago

I'm just a regular user, not a developer or anything, so I don't know what Xamarin is. I was skeptical of UWP but I'm totally a UWP convert. It just works so wonderfully - performance is consistent, never bogs down, has all the auto updating, notifications support etc of modern app platforms etc. What I love most is how well it scales and syncs between different devices with screen sizes, pixel densities and device types. It's like magic! I still use many legacy x86 apps, but I try and use UWP wherever possible.

·
·
·
50
  ·  2 months ago

Yeah I'm the same! A huge UWP fan, I also have a windows phone as well and those apps just work seamlessly over to there (think I'm like some kind of 3% of the market or something so edgey!) so I'm all for a nice tight UWP app. As for Xamarin its a platform that allows you share code between apps on different platforms. So instead of having to do your UWP app again for iOS or Android (or whatever way its done), you can share the guts of your app between all of them and then just do your iOS, Android and UWP specific stuff. Its really neat!

49
  ·  20 days ago

Since I have not been able to make v1 work on any of my desktops (a linux and a windows). I hope this v2 desktop runs in either of my desktops. I really want to use this software. The andoid app is fine, I think.

·
73
  ·  20 days ago

In v1 you will need to go to Settings and change websocket to wss://steemd.steemit.com it should work, but would suggest to wait v1 of the desktop app ;) Thanks!

·
·
49
  ·  20 days ago

Ohh... Thank you!
Replying  from esteem-desktop

64
  ·  2 months ago

I have seen the future, and in it there will be a hell of a lot of me using this application! :)

·
73
  ·  2 months ago

😊 glad you liked it, there are a lot more things in work which better surprise you when out

67
  ·  2 months ago

THIS looks SUPER slick!!! GREAT JOB!!! Thanks for sharing and namaste :)

65
  ·  2 months ago

Congratulations @good-karma!
Your post was mentioned in my hit parade in the following categories:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 1 with 439 upvotes
  • Pending payout - Ranked 1 with $ 210,19
74
  ·  2 months ago

Very nice!

·
73
  ·  2 months ago

Thank you @thecryptofiend for the comment! Hope once it is out, it will surprise you more and improve usability of Steem features that otherwise might be difficult to have them on other apps.

·
73
  ·  22 days ago

Development is in progress, no ETA yet.

56
  ·  2 months ago

Room for one more tag, #steemdev

·
73
  ·  2 months ago

You are right, thanks! updated...

40
  ·  2 months ago

One step closer to Steem being a fully functioning ecosystem!! I left steem awhile back, but its nice to see huge development ongoing!

45
  ·  2 months ago

Will this work for Golos? Very much waiting for the announcement.

·
73
  ·  last month

Let's start with Steem and we can expand from there on ;)

·
·
45
  ·  last month

Yes, I believe in it! ) Viewing works now, but it's impossible to log in to the Golos yet.

71
  ·  last month

this is the first of the project I've heard, though the interface looks pretty slick... :-)

·
73
  ·  last month

Thanks! First version didn't receive any updates that's why not many heard or used it. But upcoming version is indeed different user experience and layout, it is wallet plus extras (exchange, marketplace, communities, etc.)

57
  ·  2 months ago

Man, wow!!

I'll keep the surprise and wait till v2 is out. E-steem android app is awesome by the way! Is there a way for users to participate in the growth and give feedback?

·
73
  ·  2 months ago

Thank you!
Yes, eSteem is community driven and what you see now is community effort to make app better and better with their valuable feedback and translation contributions, etc.

56
  ·  2 months ago

This looks awesome!!!

58
  ·  2 months ago

You're getting things done! Glad to see your blazing progress continues week after week! Do you have a team or is this all your doing?

65
  ·  2 months ago

It looks good! Good job :) I'm looking forward to testing it once its released!

68
  ·  2 months ago

Good job @good-karma! I really look forward to this release! I applaud your hard work!

·
73
  ·  2 months ago

Thanks brother! 😉

50
  ·  last month

Good to hear !!! upvoted

59
  ·  2 months ago

Nice, sorry can you give a little explaination for delegation ?

·
73
  ·  2 months ago

You can delegate your SP to someone else so that they can use it to grow. You can also create account with delegation where you pay less fee for creation and compensate rate limit with delegation of SP.

·
·
59
  ·  2 months ago

Thank you ! for this explaination.

61
  ·  2 months ago

Oh this is going to be fantastic! Thanks a bunch for the sneak peak :)

51
  ·  2 months ago

How to install it?

·
73
  ·  2 months ago

This mew version is in progress, you can check out v1 which is linked in post. There are download links for Windows, Linux and Mac!

55
  ·  2 months ago

splendid !! bravo!!

66
  ·  2 months ago

Thank you for all of your hard work @good-karma your version looks very easy to use and I would not know how to use Steemit at all unless you made your other Android apps. Again thanks

63
  ·  2 months ago

I cant wait to try it out, I am very interested in the Linux version.

53
  ·  2 months ago

From a mobile version to a desktop version! that's really amazing, looks forward to see how it's like, how it works, and the future updates!

·
73
  ·  2 months ago

Yes mobile and desktop versions work in sync giving users possibilities to work across devices. You bookmark or draft post from mobile and you come back to desktop app and access them...

·
·
53
  ·  2 months ago

That's a good feature, it'll make it easier for the mobile users for sure! keep up your excellent work
Btw i recieved my translating bonus thanks a lot, your a good guy wish you the best & success in your life.

56
  ·  2 months ago

Looking forward to it!

55
  ·  2 months ago

SO SHINEY!!! SO BEAUTIFUL!!!

57
  ·  2 months ago

Uploading progress...

58
  ·  2 months ago

Good job!

67
  ·  2 months ago

Awesome work @good-karma! It looks great!

·
73
  ·  2 months ago

Thank you @voronoi!

55
  ·  2 months ago

great job mate thanks alot and congrats on completing this great project.

·
73
  ·  2 months ago

v2 is not completed yet but is in progress! v1 is available though 😉

·
·
55
  ·  2 months ago

Great

53
  ·  2 months ago

wow

28
  ·  2 months ago

looks really nice

64
  ·  2 months ago

It really does look promising. Upvoted, follow, resteem… 😊

30
  ·  2 months ago

Looks amazing and has a nice simple design. Definitely gonna download this on release.

69
  ·  2 months ago

This is shaping up to be excellent.

65
  ·  2 months ago

Looking forward...

By when do you expect to have the Mac version available?

·
73
  ·  2 months ago

You can try v1 on Mac now, v2 with above changes will take some time but it will be worth the time 😉

·
·
65
  ·  2 months ago

v1 didn't work for me, pwd needs to be typed in by hand. Tried it several times, and didn't work unfortunately. That is why I used SteemWrite that I really liked, but was not finished. But HF18 killed that App. Hence I'm looking out for eSteem desktop.

What is some time? Weeks? Months?

·
·
·
73
  ·  2 months ago

v1 has old default websocket, you should change websocket from Settings page to wss://steemd.steemit.com. Not months that's for sure, but few weeks and we go iterative way same like eSteem mobile app, improve consistently... Depends on project load as well, because as you might know I am working on other projects as well (SteemPoll and others).

·
·
·
·
65
  ·  2 months ago

Well, eSteem desktop I tried before HF18, I think at least. But I'll wait for the new version since I cannot work having to type in my random pwd for Steemit by hand all the time.

Weeks: COOL!

56
  ·  2 months ago

Excellent work! Thanks for doing this :)

59
  ·  2 months ago

Nice work!

63
  ·  2 months ago

Perfect eSteem Desktop v2.
Good job @good-karma

6
  ·  2 months ago

ESteem application that I have installed on my android, but can not login, what is the problem?
Please finish all Steemit.
Thank you :)

50
  ·  2 months ago

Will the app version always become easier to access? Makes it far more convenient than having to use browser.

·
73
  ·  2 months ago

I don't quite follow the question, could you clarify, please?

5
  ·  2 months ago

Wow! Nice! I really like the interface! Keep up the good work!
Could I create a post on this to share it?
Here's a follow and resteem to you

54
  ·  last month

абалдеть!

Никогда раньше не встречал таких популярных статей!
Удачи вам и дальше @good-karma!

40
  ·  last month

Anyone on here have a chance to review the Mac version?

Is it preferred to the online client?

48
  ·  last month

Nice! keep up the good work ;)

45
  ·  12 days ago

Excellent! With Desktop app and Mobile app, I think we will have more interface for users.