FRICTION STORY :ARRANGED MARRIAGE, EPISODE TWO

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

ARRANGED_MARRIAGE.

.
.
.
.

EPISODE 2.

arrangedmarriage.jpg

imgCredit: tvtropes.org

With a broad smile on his face, Thomas Mwelwa stepped out of his truck. As expected, he was wearing the outfit I'd dictated to him earlier but for the grey hood.
"My love." said Thomas enthusiastically, walking over to where I was standing and planting a wet kiss on my lips. "I missed you." he added, breaking the kiss but keeping me in a tight embrace.
"Oh please." I said with a snort. "We haven't seen each other for how long? 20 hours!"
"20 hours?" exclaimed Thomas. "But it feels like an eternity!"
"You and your lies," I flatly said. "It's quite chilly here, let's get going before I freeze."
"Why would you freeze when you're in my embrace?"
"Cause your embrace isn't warm enough."
"I know you're just bluffing."
"Am I now?"
Thomas chuckled. "Let's just go."
A minute later, I was seated opposite Thomas who was revving the engine.
"So," I said. "Where are we heading to?"
Thomas sighed as he pulled some gears and put the truck in motion.
"Some quiet spot. We've been to too many restaurants already. For a change, why don't we go to a night club, pub or something?"
"Thought you said you wanted a quiet spot?" I said.
"Well, I've changed my mind. What do you say?"
"Any place is fine by me." I said with a sigh.
"Why do I get the feeling you aren't interested in this date at all?" said Thomas gloomily, stealing a glance at me as he turned on the curb, joining another street.
"Cause we've been to too many dates already." I blurted out and immediately regretted what I'd said.
"Oh," said Thomas tonelessly. "Didn't know dates bore you."
"No they don't. Am sorry for sounding rude, it's just that I've got loads of stuff on my mind, really."
"Stuff like what?"
"Tom," I warily said. "Let me not bore you with my school stress. It's just that I've got loads of work to do before the long weekend comes to an end."
"Why do I get the feeling there's something you're hiding from me, Gillen?" said Thomas, pulling over on the side of the tarred road.
"Why have we stopped here?" I asked, evading his question.
Thomas stared at me intently, patting my hands.
"Cause I want to hear what's bothering you," he said. "I want the truth, honey."
I sighed.
"It's marriage."
"Marriage?"
"Yes, marriage."
"Okay," Thomas said quietly. "What has marriage done?"
"Tom, I love you. You know I do." I said, staring at Thomas too.
"I don't like where this is going." said Thomas.
"Neither do I. But we gotta have this discussion. When are we getting married, Tom?"
Thomas glared at me like he was seeing me for the first time.
"That's what is bothering you?" he flatly asked.
I nodded. Thomas heaved a deep sigh, "You scared me. Thought you were breaking up with me or something."
Thomas rummaged through something under his seat and produced a bottle of whisky. "Want some?" he asked as he opened the bottle.
"No, thanks."
The fact that he wanted to drink when there was a serious issue at hand frustrated me to the core.
"Marriage huh?" he said, gulping some whisky. "Do you wanna get married?"
I honestly didn't have a suitable answer but I replied anyway.
"Thomas, I'm 31, and you're 36. We aren't getting any younger, you know? Our parents are aging rapidly too, don't you think they would like to see some grandchildren?"
"Of course they would. But you still haven't answered my question."
"Yes, Tom. I wanna get married. I don't like the gossip spreading around like wild fire-"
"Gossip like what?"
I sighed and leaned back in my seat. "Forget about the gossip. We've been dating for seven good years, Tom. Do you want us to have gray hair by the time we get married? Or do you want me to reach menopause first?"
Thomas gulped more whisky. "I didn't know the situation is this tense." he said.
Irritated, I grabbed the bottle of whisky from his grip and put it on the dashboard. "You'll talk to me while sober!" I scolded.
Thomas sighed and leaned forward. "Gillen, you know I love you. That's the main reason as to why I don't want to rush into marriage. Marriage has too many complications, you know? But here's what we'll do. We'll discuss marriage later, I promise. But for now, why don't we go over to my place?"
I knew talking to Thomas right now would be like talking to a wall so I instead grabbed the bottle of whisky and gulped a mouthful under my throat. I was a light drinker so I shuddered as the liqor burnt it's way down my oesophagus.
"Thought you said we're going out for a date." I said, handing Thomas the bottle of liqor.
"I've lost my appetite." he replied, grabbing the bottle from me and having another gulp.
"So have I."
"Why d'you bring me here?" I said curtly, staring at Thomas' black gate. "I don't wanna go in."
"Oh c'mon." said Thomas pleadingly. "Don't tell me you want to go home? This early? The night is still young, you know?"
"What will i be doing inside your house? Watch soccer?"
Thomas chuckled. "We can have some wild sex."
"Forget!"
"Fine, I'll take you home then." said Thomas gloomily, restarting the ignition. "But don't come running to me when I get myself a hooker to quench my thirst. There's so many of em' out there, you know?"
Hardly had Thomas pronounced his last word when I grabbed him forcefully, giving him a long wet kiss.
"Eh em!" Thomas cleared his throat.
"What's up?" I scowled. "No longer horny?"
"Take it easy, babe. We need protection."
I snorted. "Am on the pill, remember?" and I revived the kiss.
Before we knew it, we were having animal sex inside the truck.

"So you've even started sleeping out now huh?" said mum, startling me.
It was Monday, 6:33 AM to be precise, and I'd just managed to creep into the house unnoticed. Well, guess I was wrong cause here was mum, in my bedroom.
I braced myself for either some long lecture or sermon and I wasn't looking forward to either of them.
"Morning, ma." I sheepishly said, my back on mum as I took off my earrings and placed them inside their box on the dressing table.
"Goodmorning." said mum patiently, sitting on my bed. "Come sit besides me, I need to have a talk with you."
Knowing there was nothing else I could do, I did as told.
"Am here now, and am listening." I said.
"Gillen, you're my first born child. And you know I have only the best interest at heart for you. You aren't growing any younger. Neither am I and neither is Thomas." said mum matter-of-factly. "You know I don't hate the guy. But don't you think he's kind of using you? I mean, he's got a job, house, car and money. What's he still waiting for? Judgement day?"
"How funny," I said with sarcasm. "Mum, Thomas and I are working on the marriage issue so please stop intruding. I beg of you, please."
Mum sighed, the wrinkles on her forehead and cheeks were now more visible than ever. "Gillen, am not intruding. As your mother, am supposed to guide you and make sure you have a happy and succesful marriage and-"
"Exactly!" I cut her short. "And for that to happen, we all need to exercise a bit of patience."
"Isn't 7 years of courtship more than enough patience?"
"Geez mum, you sound like Thandi."
"Aha!" exclaimed mum, clapping her hands together dramatically. "My daughter, the Bembas say, 'apa komaila nondo ninshi pali ubulema..'"
"Meaning?"
"Everyone talking or gossiping about your unmarried status is right."
"Oh really?" I was trying hard not to lose my calm. "Well, they can talk and talk for all I care. But it's my life, not theirs!"
"You mean not mine?" said mum, tears welling in her eyes.
"You know that's not what I meant." I honestly said. "But mum, it's my life and I do understand your worries." I patted her hand and flashed a slight smile. "Don't worry, I talked to Thomas and you know how reasonable he is. Am certain we'll get married soon."
I could see mum's eyes light up a bit.
"If you say so." she sighed getting up. "I'll leave you for now."
"Thanks."
"Just make sure I get a glimpse of a grandchild before I kick the bucket," said mum briskly, turning the doorknob.
I giggled. "Sure. But Helen's expecting a child, doesn't that count as a grandchild huh?"
"I meant your child, not your junior sister's." and mum was gone.
I went over to my bed and lay down, hugging a pillow. This marriage talk was honestly beginning to get on my nerves now.
Was I the only unmarried 31 year old woman on earth? Yes, my sister was 27 and married, expecting a child. So what?
I loved Thomas and wasn't gonna push him into marriage cause the courtship was more than fine by me.

Meet Mrs Kambone, Gillen's mum.
Any predictions as to why Thomas hasn't proposed to Gillen yet?

To be continued......

Check my blog for the continuation of this story.

You can check this link for EPISODE 1.

EPISODE 1

r9ds6udd5j.jpg

image (2).gif

r9ds6udd5j.jpg

signature_1.gif
r9ds6udd5j.jpg

20180618_063654_0001.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @goldbaba1: this post has been upvoted by @minnowhelpme!!
This is a free upvote bot, part of the project called @steemrepo , made for you by the witness @yanosh01.
Thanks for being here!!

Beautiful story sir. Looking forward to reading more.
Marriage truly isnt a matter to be discussed while sober.

Thanks for reading, sure it isn't

Thanks for sharing too sir. Hope you have been aiit

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by goldbaba1 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67443.33
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66