FRICTION STORY :ARRANGED MARRIAGE, EPISODE SEVEN

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

ARRANGED_MARRIAGE.

.
.
.
.

EPISODE 7.

arrangedmarriage.jpg

tvtropes

#ARRANGEDMARRIAGE
.
.
.
.
EPISODE 7.

#ARRANGED_MARRIAGE.
.
.
.
.
EPISODE 7.

Gillen and I were leaning against the wall, admiring the stars.
"Today's such a beautiful night, isn't it?" said Gillen, pointing towards the stars.
"Yeah, it is."
"I've got a confession to make."
"Am listening."
Gillen turned to face me. "I think I've fallen for you, Thomas."
"You're bluffing," I said.
She shook her head and wrapped her hands around my neck. "That kiss we shared inside the pub cleared all my doubts. I've fallen in love with you, Thomas. Can I call you Tom?"
"Sure," I grinned, doing a happy dance inside. "My friends call me Tom."
Gillen sighed. "Alright, Tom. I love you and am not ashamed."
"Don't you think it's probably the alcohol speaking?"
"Don't you act dumb with me, Tom. You know people usually speak their hearts out in the drunken state."
"Then why have you been resisting me all these weeks?"
"Because I was afraid," said Gillen flatly.
"Of what?"
"Heartache. Thomas, love brings with it intense heartache and I've had my fair share of heartache and wouldn't wanna go through such again, never."
I stared at her beautiful face intently, she looked like a miniature goddess.
"Gillen," I warily said. "What makes you so certain I won't break your heart?" Cause this is all just a bet.
Gillen shrugged. "I just have a feeling you won't. Tell me you won't break my heart, Tom. No, promise me."
Silence.
I can't promise you anything, dammit, I thought.
"Promise me, Tom." Gillen pressed on.
I sighed and without second thought, I said, "I promise."
Gillen flashed me a smile and placed her soft lips on mine.

"You look gloomy," said Dalitso as soon as I got home. "Did the sex drain you?"
"You betcha!" said Ben with a chuckle, he was seated at our study table.
I dumped myself on my mattress.
"There was no sex tonight," I said, taking off my snickers. "You guys win, I lose."
"You're kidding, right?" said Dalitso in disbelief, joining me on the mattress.
"Do I look like am joking?"
"But what went wrong?" said Ben. "I mean, that girl's clearly now mad about you so why didn't you get laid?"
"Cause she's apparently in love with me."
"That's good news, isn't it?" said Dalitso. "That even makes things easier for you."
I sighed. "Well, it kinda complicates everything. And the worst part is that I think am in love with Gillen too."
"Love?" said Ben and Dalitso in unison.
"Impossible!" exclaimed Ben. "You're incapable of loving anyone but yourself. Love is for the weak, you always say that."
I buried my head in my palms. "This is just so fucked up guys, am in love with Gillen. I don't know how nor when it happened but I immensely love that girl. Can you believe I felt her pain when she said she's suffered so much heartache in the past? She's so fragile and I found myself not willing to hurt her. Am never going to hurt her, guys. Am serious."
"Will you tell her this was just a bet?" said Ben.
"Maybe. I honestly don't know, guys."
"I suggest you tell her."
"That aside," said Dalitso. "Tell us how the date went."

When dawn came, the buzzing of my phone woke me. Without checking the caller ID, I picked up.
"Hey handsome." It was Gillen's voice.
But how did she get my line? I figured we must have exchanged lines the previous night.
"Morning, princess. How was your night.?"
"Boring. I couldn't stop thinking about you."
"Neither could I."
Silence.
"You have plans today?" I said, breaking the silence and sitting up in bed.
"Today's Saturday, right? No, I don't think I have any plans. Why?"
"Let's meet up and talk."
"Sure. Where?"
"We'll take a walk outside campus."

"Gillen," I warily said, Gillen and I were walking side by side.
"Mmmmm."
"I didn't get the chance to tell you how I feel about you last night."
Gillen abruptly stopped in her tracks and I followed suit.
"Okay," she slowly said. "Am listening."
I took her hand in mine. "I think I've fallen in love with you too. No, am 100% certain I love you."
Gillen beamed at me. "Glad to know the feeling is mutual."
"But I've got a confession to make," I sheepishly said. "Can we perhaps take a seat? I think that pillar will do."
I ushered Gillen to some pillar where we sat.
"Tom," said Gillen quietly. "Tell me already, you're scaring me."
"I don't know how to put this," I began. "But I'll tell you anyway---" and I told her about the bet. "My deadline is today." I shamefully finished.
There was silence and Gillen's blank stares were scaring me.
"You aren't mad at me?" I finally said. "Just say something. Curse me, hit me, just show some reaction but please don't give me the silent treatment cause it's killing me."
Gillen heaved a deep sigh. "Am not mad at you, Tom. But am a bit hurt, just a bit. Am fine though." she said.
"Okay?" I shot her an incredulous look.
"Tom, to err is human and it takes more than guts for man to admit his mistakes and apologize. So what if it was just a bet? You didn't sleep with me last night and that proves how much you love me. I appreciate it, Tom. I really do. Forget the bet, it's all in the past. To tell you the truth, had you told me this before the deadline was up, I would have willingly helped you scoop that K1000."
I chuckled. "You're crazy."
Gillen gave out a hearty laugh. "Well," she said, getting up and signalling me to do the same. "Let's go thank your friends cause without them, we wouldn't be here."

My relationship with Gillen was amazing even though we had a few silly fights at times but Yo, all couples go through that right? Four months into our relationship, Gillen and I finally made love. I had been to bed with so many girls but Gillen was different and it was because of this that I vowed to forever remain faithful to her.
I flunked my course and went back to Mufulira, my hometown. Of course, Gillen and I remained in touch. An uncle of mine found me a job as a truck driver months later and I relocated to Lusaka. Gillen and I were officially in courtship now. She introduced me to her family and I did the same.
Six years into our courtship, Ben married Thandi and I vowed to marry Gillen asap. But as they say, "your plans aren't God's plans."
One fateful night, I was in a bar in Dar Es Salam chilling when my head literally exploded with pain. Before I knew it, it was lights out for me. When I came to, I was in a hospital.
A male black and bald doctor was hovering over me, shouting instructions to two nurses.
"Gillen," was the first thing I said when I came to.
"Ah," said the doctor, beaming at me. "You're awake. You're Zambian, right?"
I nodded.
"So am I." said the doctor in Bemba, grabbing a chair and sitting besides me.
"What's wrong with me?" I asked, I had a throbbing headache.
"Thomas," said the doctor, staring at me with sadness written in his eyes. "Saw your name on your NRC. I've got some bad news for you."
I sighed. "Am man enough to handle the bad news maturely."
"Am sorry, you've got a brain tumor."
"Brain tumor?"
"Yes."
"How serious is it?" I asked.
"Very serious."
"Treatment?"
"Antiseizure/Anti epileptic Drugs(AEDs), Steroids or surgery." said the doctor. "And all these depend on factors such as your age, overall health and medical history. The type, location, and size of the tumor. Am afraid yours is kind of large. Other factors are how likely the tumor is to spread or recur, your tolerance for specific medications, procedures, or therapies. I can't recommend any treatment as of now cause that would endanger your life. I suggest you pray for a miracle cause the treatment's awfully expensive too."
Whoever hired this doctor is a fool, I thought. Can't this guy have the curtesy to sugar-coat my predicament?
"Tell me something," I said, swallowing the lump that was on my throat. "How much time do I have left."
The doctor sighed. "A couple of months, nine, ten, maybe a year or less. I honestly can't tell."

This is too much for me, am outta here

To be continued.......

r9ds6udd5j.jpg

signature_1.gif

r9ds6udd5j.jpg

image (2).gif

r9ds6udd5j.jpg

20180618_063654_0001.png

r9ds6udd5j.jpg
Screenshot_20180622-225947.png

STEEMRELIEF_FOOTER.gif

LEGEND_20180627_062107.gif

STEEMRELIEF_PROPOSAL_2.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67443.33
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66