Freewrite Day 670 Red Curtain

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

6zkngp19g2.jpg

Canva has a lot of curtain photos and most of them are red. When I first saw this prompt, I wondered why is was not just for “curtain”. And why red? Why not blue? But maybe red curtains are a “thing” I do not know about.

A lot of the curtains in Canva were like stage curtains as you see in my photo to the left in my poster today. I’ve been to many plays in my life, and never noticed if stage curtains were predominantly red. I feel like my observational skills are lacking now.

My mom is my connection to curtains as she is in so many freewrite prompts. As a housewife constantly moving in the 1960’s through 1980’s, curtains, drapes, and sheers were something she cared about.

When you move, the old curtains are not going to work in the new home's windows. My mom did not like a window people could look into, and so she was always buying curtains, getting them made to size, and figuring out ways to hang them.

The old window treatments were normally left in the old home as part of the sale and purchase. Those next people could cross something off their list if they had my mom’s style.

My photo to the right are a photo of white sheers I covered with a red transparency. My mom would have never gotten red, but she always was buying sheers in white or beige.

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. Freewrite is a great way to post on STEEM when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. It’s a great way to start regular posting, and I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.

vppq9tmex7.png

Sort:  

Ah ha, behind the red curtain was a phrase used when we were growing up for the communists or Eastern Europe, Russia in particular.... brain washing!

With road traffic patrols often hiding on center medium of highways it was referred to as a communist under every bush.

Your red curtain is literally a drape, my Mom made most everything in our home including the red, orange, black weave curtains she hung in our lounge, very fashionable in the day.

Nice #freewrite @fitinfun have an awesome day.

Now you know that I never pay attention to news and that I am not a homemaker, @joanstewart! Freewrite is constantly showing the holes in my knowledge.

I know my mom would have loved to stay put, but she was always fixing up the latest house we got to :)

Thank you for stopping by with this good help for me. I really appreciate it and I'm so happy to see you!

Ha ha, crazy bits of useless information, whatever pops into my head when I see the topic, have a great day Sharon.

I have red curtains in my house - in one room LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91