Diary of a Believer.

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

Diary of a Believer.

At a point I hated Ijaw, I felt it was degrading for anyone to be from Ijaw land, the ideology of ijaw as a person who has grown from seeing himself as an Ogbia boy to learning that we are all Ijaws, to knowing that the Nembe, Epie and the Ogbia were travellers who were Ijaws to being told by Bodmas P. Kemepadei that Ijaw were being talked about in the Bible was that Ijaw meant anyone who stayed close to the water region. But with time I came to respect Ijaw and I loved Ijaw and I Loved Ogbia more. I started to miss home, but I lost track of myself, religiously let me explain.
Spending a little of my childhood in Nembe, I came to know the ways of the water, sea pirates and gun boats bathing in the river while dead bodies float ashore, i was ignorant to so many things.
When I started writing jamb I asked myself so many questions that would be termed abnormal but to me they were normal.
I read alot of awake and newspapers I think from 1991 till date. I can boldly say I have read 70% of their publications and some newspaper (my favourite part was the news and the cartoons). The question I asked myself was, what makes us feel we are better than others when we can bleed like them, cry like them and also feel like them. I was grown in an Anglican surrounding if you grew up in Ogbia, you know that Catholic and Anglican were the first Christian institute to set up churches in Ogbia. Before the celestials, I sort to find out what separates us from the rest of the world. As a jambite seeking admission for law whose dreams were being surpressed I know the ordeal from being told that it was a spiritual attack on my destiny to being told to do some spiritual rites, fast and pray. But still to no avail then I got admitted and now graduating as a religious studies student. I sit here shedding tears because I feel like everything was God's plan and not man. I then asked myself again what if there are others just like me out there that have passed through same ordeal..
In school I met plenty people who had similar experiences and some way worse than mine, some gained the admission but couldn't continue. I sat down at a jetty and it hit me, the problem I had then was that I expected life to be so stress-free that when I faced a challenge, I feel it was extra ordinary for that challenge to be in my life so I just say it was caused by something out of the ordinary. I then concluded that if bad things happen and good things happen that means that we are supposed to keep faith and pray to God.
After some days I stumbled upon a verse in the book of John where Jesus was talking to the Samaritan woman at the well. "19 “Sir,” the woman said, “I can see that you are a prophet. 20 Our ancestors worshiped on this mountain, but you Jews claim that the place where we must worship is in Jerusalem.”

21 “Woman,” Jesus replied, “believe me, a time is coming when you will worship the Father neither on this mountain nor in Jerusalem.22 You Samaritans worship what you do not know; we worship what we do know, for salvation is from the Jews. 23 Yet a time is coming and has now come when the true worshipers will worship the Father in the Spirit and in truth, for they are the kind of worshipers the Father seeks. 24 God is spirit,and his worshipers must worship in the Spirit and in truth.”
This is where I smiled and I thanked God so much for this revelation. When the devil tempted Job, he gave job all the illness, killed his sons etc but job didn't renounce God, and God doubled his blessings and gave him more. We all will experience bad things. But for every bad thing we experience, it's not the pastor or the doctors or the prophets. It's the belief in God that will see us though. God has no religion. All Humans must worship him in Spirit. No religious founder, ever wanted to create a religion.
Drop your comments and questions. Below
I Love You Jesus! image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94