Beliefs, Truth, and The Mind

in #esteem7 years ago

In my last two posts, we talked about beliefs, and their influence on our lives, and the need to have a belief built on Truth.

image

We also saw what or who Truth is, not exhausting it of course.

Today, as promised, I will be sharing an experience which showed me, on a small scale, what happens when we refuse to set our minds based on Truth.

In Lagos where I grew up, there's a specific kind of truck used for emptying a soak-away. All my life, I avoided these trucks because I knew what they carried.

Months after I moved to Enugu, I discovered that the same kind of trucks were used to deliver water, clean water.

image

I discovered this, I saw the trucks deliver the water to houses, saw the hoses pour out water and not something else, saw 'WATER' written boldly on the trucks, yet somehow I didn't change my mindset.

Despite the fact that I saw the Truth, I didn't align my mind with it.

So, one day, I'm on a bike moving behind one of these trucks, and the water somehow splashed on my face.

I freeze.

Then I gently wipe it off with my left hand, and bring it to my nose. There's no foul smell, yet I feel unclean.

image

I can see the clear liquid gushing from the still moving truck, I can see 'WATER' written on the truck, yet I am frowning like someone shit got splashed on.

I felt unclean until I got home and washed.

I should have changed my mindset when I learnt Enugu's use of the trucks. Would have been easier. I would have saved myself from the uneasiness and uncleanness I felt.

The mind affects everything. Be sure it is rightly set.

Seek the truth. Always.

Create your mindset with the Truth.

Your Mind Is Set By Your Beliefs, Affects Your Reaction To Everything, And So You Should Set It On Truth.
image

The End.

Photos from honest reporting.com, Amthor International, luciannoaraujo.com, and WordPress, respectively.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56836.82
ETH 2341.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41