Garang A La Cici

in #esteem5 years ago

jhiz7o.jpg
Spin and win today, 20 ESTM


Saleum eSteemians

I can't login in for 3 days due to some other things in the real life. I missed yesterday's spin and win on esteemapp 😁 nice to get the free ESTM anyway.

I supposed to publish a post on Friday to join the food fight friday, and I can't wait to create this post because I need to clean my gallery with pictures that wait to be keep in this platform.

Have you ever known that we have a kind of food called "Garang Asem" here in Indonesia, especially Java?

It's a traditional and specific food from Central Java. My Father loves that food, so sometimes my wife cooks it for us. Well.. Garang in Bahasa Indonesia means "bold". I dunno why this Delicious food called as Garang too. I will find the history about it later.

gpi9xe.jpg
Not the complete original Garang Asem


The original Garang Asem usually needs

  • sliced fresh bilimbi
  • tomatilo or green tomato
  • red pepper
  • bayleaf
  • onion
  • garlic
  • pepper
  • coconut's milk
  • fresh basil leaf
  • lemongrass
  • galangal
  • salt

Chicken meat is the main artist of this show. We will need banana leaf to wrap all ingredients and steam it for 30-60 minutes.

z80za2.jpg
But that day, my wife misses the basil, bilimbi and lemongrass


The bilimbi tree in our garden not producing fruits for 3 months now, maybe because I didn't prune the leaf so the stem would exposed to the sun. This tree needs sun light to produce fruits. But then she forgotten to buy the basil and lemongrass.

7yrh86.jpg
Sliced all ingredients, she used the green chili coz no red pepper available at the kitchen, arrange it in the banana leaf, wrap it and steam


She said it was a "silly Garang" but still it's as delicious as the complete one. You will get everything, the sweet (from coconut's milk), sour (from tomatilo), hot and spicy from everything else. Smell is good and tasty, savoury as always.

she has another kind of Garang which she named it as Cheesy Garang😆

vqmcz5.jpg
Her Cheesy Garang not steamed but baked


It was 2 days before she made the Silly Garang😉, she's asking me what I want for lunch, something simple and quick. I told her to cook "Garang Asem" because I saw my father seemed to lose his appetite, he caught a cold (he's fine now).

But when Kang Jawir, the veggies seller stopped by, there's no banana leaf available. My wife then thinking about trying her experiments again😂

She marinates the chicken meat first, then prepare the aluminium foil on a cookie pan. Then...

  • spread the margarine on it, without trying to rub it evenly
  • put the chicken meat (half chicken cuts into 6 pieces)
  • half onion sliced and put over the chicken
  • following by 4 minced garlic and a thumb of minced ginger over it
  • 4 big green chillies, sliced too
  • then 2 sliced tomatoes, big one
  • some salt
  • 50 grams grated cheese
  • 65ml. Coconut's milk (instant one)
  • then cover it up with boiled corns and carrots.

She fold the aluminium foil, wrap everything and then bake it for almost an hour.

Hmmmm😍🤤 the taste was even better than the original Garang Asem 😆 My Father loves it so much. She didn't use any bayleaf or lemongrass or her favourite's kaffir lime leaf and Basil. Cheesy, savoury, spicy and tasty🌠🌠🌠🌠🌠

I like all her types of Garang. She tried to cook it for the first time few months after she lived with us in 2017, after My sister bought it from the food sellers and she saw that my father loves it. She said she doesn't enjoy the "Garang Asem" from the food sellers, then cooks it by herself ever since. Sometimes we would buy it from other sellers too, especially when she doesn't feels like she wants to mess up with the kitchen business 😂. She won't eats it anyway.

My wife is a picky eater, she won't takes anything into her plate when she didn't craves for it. An advantage for me of course 🤫 no need to spare budgets for dine out 😆 but when she wants some fruits, she became a totally bat girl 😂

Thanks for stopping by and have a wonderful weekend

Sort:  

Congratulations @dipoabasch! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

New one to me but I'm liking what I see!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @skramatters ..I think it's something like potato wedges something if we change the meat with it 😆. Silly Garang is not new to me, but the cheesy Garang is... Tasty!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

I made cheesy garang today😉 more corns and carrots..hurry home then 😉 it's amazing

Aahh.. I'm too far away somewhere in the mountain 😆 I bet you like this place if you were here 🤤 save me the cheesy Garang 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50