My Life with Feral / Stray Cats in RVA (Richmond, VA)

in #esteem7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians! When I moved to the city of Richmond, VA last year, I was amazed at all the feral cats that were everywhere.
This is Light. He lives on my porch!
image

He is a handsome cat lol!! Heartbreaker!

image

His friend who is female is kitty...she is very feral and will not come too close!
image

Here they are earlier today eating some Salmon Meow Mix with tuna juice I put on top lol!
They loved it...the female is eating here...

This is dark Tiger
image

image
This is the "old man" haha, he was the first cat I fed. He is very old, has a limp and sometimes his eye is mest up. I gave him the small appropriate dose of antibiotics once when he was hurt and had a huge open wound. He is okay now though.

He is very feral and keeps his distance but he likes the food very much.
He does not come around every day since Light and Kitty moved on my porch but I still see him.
He got some Meow Mix earlier today.

image

This is grey and white. He is funny!! He is feral but comes close to you when you feed him but then hisses as he is scared. He acts like he is playing a game of ok where you putting the food over here over there where where!?

He has to edit his turn after the old man but does not get along with Light so I do not see him much. He does jump up and sit here on my window in my bedroom...he's a funny guy lol!!

image

They are homeless cats who have never been around people. They are just scared of people and do not usually go around them.

The way you can tell apart a feral cat and a homeless cat that was abandoned or lost is they will come up to you and are not as scared as the feral cats.

Unfortunately I did start to feeds few and now we have two that live on my porch!

They are sweet. The Male, Light is not feral at all.
On the contrary, he is the most affectionate and sweet cat I've ever known!

image

The two above I do not see everyday but have eaten here before.

image

This female cat was around a lot in the spring. I could tell she just had kittens and I fed her canned food with dry food....she only wanted that and was acting crazy fighting almost with other cats and coming right up to me to eat! A little too close lol....

image

This is my inside cat Zoe. She does not care for any of the cats outside and will hiss at them fast lol!

If you ever see some feral cats in the winter months especially it would be kind of you to feed them a bit then as it is hard for them to get food with snow, frozen grounds, etc.

Goodnight Steemians!
Sending you lots of Positive Vibes!

Chris Love in RVA!

image
My daughter and I having fun with selfies!❤️

image

My son Adil and I getting our selfie on!❤️

Sort:  

That is a wonderful post. Your sharing of your experiences is inspiring. Your love for your family is evident in your photos as well as your love for the feral cats of Richmond.

They are all fortunate to have you!

Keep up the postings.

The cat is nimble and interesting his movements.

Sounds interesting! I love cats!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99