You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bleeping Cold!

in #esteem6 years ago

My brother had an epic conversation one winter night. We lived about 12 miles apart, but had a route we took the morning after a big storm. We checked about 60 miles of rural highways to see if anybody had been stuck. Anyway, we were planning our route and my power started flickering. He said "You know what I really wish I'd done? Get a job with the power company. That's so cushy, especially on a day like today." We had a cousin that did that very thing. I can't even imagine.

I'm all done with 4 seasons. Sometimes I honestly think that 3 is too many :) But when I was young, I was all in.

Sort:  

That is pretty funny. I think they make some good money working holiday's and overtime when things like this happen. I have often said that if I wasn't doing what I was doing it might be interesting to be an HVAC technician. They are always in demand and I think they make pretty good money. I am sure eventually I will be fed up with all of the seasons as well. Cost of living is just so awesome in Michigan though :)

There is no doubt they make bank in times like that. But it is a miserable way to make bank. Our cousin retired after 35 years with WWP, a good retirement.

Used to see him once in a while in his pickup and think how cushy he had it. Until my brother figured it out :)

I looked into HVAC a little at one point, and have a step nephew that is part of that trade. It looks to me to be a good way to make a living.

It's all what you like, I guess. I had a good friend that made himself wealthy installing fire sprinkler systems. Started out as a pressure rated pipe fitter and ended up well.

I know I'm done with winter. I'm way past the curve for normal with the sort and amount of arthritis that I have, and no doubt in my mind that some of that is a result of moving to Arizona when I was 48.

I have a friend whose husband is the co-owner of a fire sprinkler company and he also does very well for himself. It is great business to be in. My friend was telling me the other day that she doesn't know why she is still working. She said that she makes less in one year working here than he gets just for his yearly bonus...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60637.64
ETH 2405.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60