The Microwave Mentality - PING! Your make-believe nonsense in only 3 minutes!

in #esteem7 years ago

What Is The Microwave Mentality?

Today's society demands that our products and services are delivered immediately. Even waiting in a queue, shock horror, annoys people. The speed that our information arrives, has coloured our attitudes towards waiting times and being patient.

It is said, that on average, people start becoming agitated if they aren't welcomed or noticed by store or business staff within 7 seconds! When I had a good think about my own conduct when out shopping or waiting for a server to see me I reckoned on around a minute waiting time before I thought it was rude for a member of staff not to at least say hello or that they would be with me as soon as possible. I'm not really bothered how long it takes for me to get served as long as someone smiles at me and knows I'm there.

This attitude also applies when people are joining a business or opportunity and expect results within a month or so. It is entirely ludicrous to expect immediate returns on a business or investment so quickly - especially if the work effort is not good enough. This whole attitude is typical of today's society and it is known as The Microwave Mentality.

I challenged a lady who became agitated in a queue after waiting her turn for 5 minutes at peak time. She was tutting and looking around and muttering to herself. I asked her what the main issue was and she said that it was ridiculous to have to be kept waiting for so long. I suggested that next time she gave it an extra ten minutes and to calm down some-what! That did not go down so well!

Just because the pace of life has increased, it does not mean that we should not keep putting the work in. It certainly does not give us the right to be rude either.

I work hard at what I do, I put the effort into my online business and it pays off - but not straight away. I plan three months ahead in everything I do and generally after 6 weeks I feel momentum speeding up. It is just the way it is.

If more people stopped for a little while and gave things more thought, then maybe their results in life and business would improve.

Food for thought.

Sort:  

Congratulations @adrianwhitworth! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @adrianwhitworth! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61904.26
ETH 2409.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68