Topsy Turvy London

in #esteem6 years ago

We’re living in up-side-down world out here

in London where it’s been consistently over 20 °C for almost 3 months. We’ve been able to count the number of rainy days this summer on one hand - a city known for it’s rainfall.


mtr9ljnk9s.jpg


Like many Londoners, I’m torn between the two feelings of incredible worry for our climate, and the gratitude for the ability to sit out in the garden and enjoy the warm days.

I do wonder what the effect has been on the economy of the Mediterranean countries that depend on summer time tourism from the north of the continent.

o02ozcywed.jpg

lngqxcmk1v.jpg

The down side of all this though is that here in England, we’re not prepared for this kind of heat. The homes are not designed for it. After a while, people start to find it very irritating. The trash stinks. The rooms are too warm at night. The neighbours are too noisy (now that you can really hear them at night with your windows open). The insects, and other small creatures, have moved in with you.

ayx01fewbd.jpg

gq5fhtbfum.jpg

A more serious consequence is that some of our infrastructure is starting to break down under the heat too. There have been some train track issues as well as expanding bits and bobs on roads causing cracks.

What I’m worried about now, is the upcoming winter. Will it be as cold, or maybe even colder than the last one. If so, perhaps I should start looking for a 3-month winter getaway :)

Any ideas where?


Banner.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

No one hit it before I did! I'm your esteem curator today Adude!!!!! hahahah

You popped that eSteem cherry :)

Climate change is very real. Well slightly above 20C seems like a very cold day where I stay. Temps are in the late 20s to early 30Cs. I'll say just stay hydrated as much as possible

Like the believers would say nowadays that the world is going to an end, though change is constant but I believe that God is always in control over everything.

You've observed a really great thing, thanks for sharing
I've followed, upvoted and resteemed. Kindly visit my page and do so. Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68180.36
ETH 2642.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70