Removing the esteemapp Posting AuthoritysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #esteem-feedback7 years ago

Now, if you ever use esteem before, when you check your account in steemd.com, you will see the posting authority shown:

Screenshot 2017-07-06 10.05.09.png

This is not a problem, per se, since esteem is a trusted app. But I like to keep my account clean and is wondering how I can remove it. After much research and trial and error, I finally found a way. Before we start, let me show my current profilein steemd.com:

Screenshot 2017-07-07 16.41.49.png

As you can see, I did manage to remove it. The trick is to login to esteem app with your posting and private key instead of the master / password. You can do this by clicking the advance in the login page as such:

Screenshot 2017-07-07 16.45.38.png

Then after logging in, go to submit a story. Turn the permission slider to off. This will remove the esteemapp posting authority.

Screenshot 2017-07-07 16.47.33.png

If you have similar problem, let me know if it work for you. Thanks!

Sort:  

Just to let you guys know, after knowing how safe eSteem is, I have re-enabled esteemapp as my posting authority to allow scheduled post :)

I just saw your other post, there is nothing to worry about and as you can see you can easily remove permission just like you enabled permission if you don't use schedule post feature.

thanks. i know it is safe since esteem is very trusted. just that its nagging me why i can't remove it :) btw, for esteem, how does it keep the keys in mobile? is it encrypted. because i am using android and i know apps can read my directory right?

Android has sandbox for each app which means all app data cannot be accessed from other apps so it is safe unless someone has physical access to your device.

Thanks. :)

Congratulations @gaman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Very Good Post. I upvoted and followed. Please read my post.

if in busyapp how to do? @gaman?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54657.34
ETH 2331.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14