How to remove apps from your posting authoritysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #esteem-feedback7 years ago

So I encountered the issue where I see another app having a posting authority on my account yesterday. To read more about it, take a look at here: https://steemit.com/esteem-feedback/@gaman/how-do-i-remove-esteemapp-in-the-posting-key

After much research, I found a way to remove it. It is thru using the cli_wallet. The cli_wallet has this function:

update_account_auth_key(string account_name, authority_type type, public_key_type key, weight_type weight, bool broadcast)

This method updates the key of an authority for an exisiting account.
Warning: You can create impossible authorities using this method. The
method will fail if you create an impossible owner authority, but will
allow impossible active and posting authorities.

Parameters:
    account_name: The name of the account whose authority you wish to
    update (type: string)
    type: The authority type. e.g. owner, active, or posting (type:
    authority_type)
    key: The public key to add to the authority (type: public_key_type)
    weight: The weight the key should have in the authority. A weight of 0
    indicates the removal of the key. (type: weight_type)
    broadcast: true if you wish to broadcast the transaction. (type: bool)

So, as I understand it, you have to set the weight to 0 to remove the key.

I haven't tried this yet, as I am stuck in running the cli_wallet remotely. I am currently installing steemd in my server and once I am done with it, I will let you guys know if I am successful in removing it.

Sort:  

steemd takes a long long time replaying blockchain. I am already at it for 3 days now.

i've followed you, plz follow me back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40