How to make an easy, effective& toxin-free natural cutting board sanitiser

in #essentialoils5 years ago

DIY Natural Cutting Board Sanitiser with essential oils

Cutting boards are probably the most used tool in my kitchen. I have separate ones for different types of food to avoid contamination and I always make sure they’re washed thoroughly with hot, soapy water. But is there more I could be doing to keep my cutting boards as sanitised as possible?
All my boards are from wood or what I also really love are the bamboo boards. I find the plastic ones are loaded with toxic chemicals that could easily and slowly seep into my food. They get damaged very quickly, which means a bit of plastic can come into contact with the food easily. Most plastic cutting boards also contain BPA’s or phthalates, which are known to be hormone disruptors. Finally, they are terrible for the environment and can take thousands of years to biodegrade. Think of how many are sitting on a landfill right now.
Wooden or bamboo cutting boards are a much better option as they are 100% renewable. In fact, bamboo doesn’t require pesticides or herbicides to help it grow and has naturally occurring anti-bacterial properties. And, if taken care of properly, they will last you for ages.

Tips to care for a wooden or bamboo cutting board:

Wood can crack or split if emerged in water or a dishwasher so always hand wash them after use.
Rubbing coconut oil over your wooden cutting board can extend their life. Virgin coconut oil, in particular, is great for cutting boards as it has antibacterial properties. Simply rub a small amount of melted oil over the board, leave to soak in for a few minutes, then rub off any excess with a cloth.
To avoid contamination I use different boards for different foods. This stops smells from seeping into my food as well.
If you do notice any smells on your boards try sprinkling some sea salt over it and then rubbing it in with a cut lemon. You could also sprinkle some baking soda if the smell is really persistent.
Every two weeks I will also do a deep clean of my boards. I prefer DIY solutions and avoid any sort of chemical cleaner. This stops your food from getting contaminated and is super easy to do. I like to use a mix of vinegar and essential oils to clean my boards. Tea tree and lemon essential oils are my go-to as they have natural antiseptic properties.

Here is my tried and tested DIY recipe for sanitizing your cutting boards:

1/2 a cup of apple cider or white vinegar
1 cup of purified water
10 drops of therapeutic grade tea tree or organic lemon essential oil
5 drops of therapeutic grade clove essential oil
5 drops of therapeutic grade cinnamon essential oil
glass amber tinted spray bottle

Do you want to learn about the method to make this DIY recipe?
Healthy kisses Sandra Bloom
DIY NATURAL CUTTING BOARD SANITISING RECIPE.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @sandrabloom! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44