You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where and Why Blockchains and Law Intersect

in #essay7 years ago

Indeed, but it's better if we force the states to abandon their refuge of perceived lawfulness. States claim a monopoly on lawfulness, but in reality they are the world's most lawless institutions. By building our blockchain on a rock-solid foundation of Law that can be understood, at least at a high level, in the reading of an essay, we force states that wish to impose their lawless behavior to clearly and overtly abandon Law and simply say "We don't care about law, we're going to hurt you anyways."

Perception of legitimacy is the state's only power. If I take refuge in a jurisdiction that, for states to do harm in, they must first sacrifice their appearance of legitimacy and color of law, I think I've accomplished something truly worthwhile.

Sort:  

Perception of legitimacy is the state's only power.

The use of force is actually the state's main power. With regards legitimacy, one hand washes the other here. It's not so long ago that legitimacy was clearly defined in terms of physical power.

(Just adding this here even though I engaged with you in my own comment, as it's a strong statement.)

Perception of legitimacy is the state's only power. If I take refuge in a jurisdiction that, for states to do harm in, they must first sacrifice their appearance of legitimacy and color of law, I think I've accomplished something truly worthwhile.

This is easier said than done. Because it's all about perception, things like logic have very little power. It's really hard to get a state to lose its perception of legitimacy. They can do pretty horrible stuff and still preserve it.

I just wrote more about my thoughts on blockchain constitution. Your story in the OP about better law system fits quite well in it. Your story is great and humankind would be getter off if people believed it. But the problem is: how you are going to make people believe it?

I've been libertarian for many years. Nowadays I take part in philosophical discussions very rarely because they tend to have zero impact on the real world. No matter how good the system looks on paper, it doesn't matter as long as there are no practical and actionable steps towards it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68369.94
ETH 2645.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71