Breaking up with Breaking News

in #essay8 years ago


News, I've been meaning to talk to you about something, and now's the time.

First of all, I want you to know that it's me, not you. Well, it's you, but the important part is me. You make me crazy and I don't like me when I'm crazy. I know there were some good things we had at one point, but most of that has gone by, it's more bad now than good.

And I'm getting older, even though all my reading and following and watching has not ever really left me in a position to do anything at all about world issues, I liked feeling that I was helping by rolling my eyes at the screen and arguing on the internet. But now I cannot fool myself any longer, in the few short years I have left, there is no way my efforts to correct the misapprehensions of the uninformed will have any effect on the larger stage.

So I'm unsubscribing. BBC, Reuters, NPR and FOX all have to go. I'm sticking to SMBC and XKCD with an occasional classic Calvin and Hobbes. Everything else is going to be on the level of Cat videos. Maybe a little bit of sci/tech news in my fields of study.

I know you are going to want to see me, and you will show up with my other friends and associates and that's fine, I don't want you to change. I'm the one who needs to change.

From now on the world can burn without me peering down on it with disapproval. I look forward to being surprised by world events as they are represented in NetFlix TV show episodes in the future. Don't be offended when I walk right past you in the lobby of Airports or turn past you to the color comics page at the coffee shop counter.

...wait a minute... something just happened in China... let me get back to you about this.

Sort:  

So what is going on in China?

LOL! They are always up to something. Actually when I was writing that I think I got a notification from my Earthquake monitor. I have friends in China and Japan so I watch weather and Earthquakes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60986.47
ETH 2413.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59