You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Invaders

in #esoteric6 years ago

I always wondered how your writing would change when your mind got set on new challenges. I love it!!

I start reading and think he is writing about people who don't want to be bothered with new languages. Then it seems like the poem took a twist and talked about the language learner's struggle to run to his or her "comfortable" language.

An eroding gamble,
a shelter of steel,
and a mute boy, running—
split into seven doppelgängers
measured by the iris' compass
vanishing into the sacred forest
in a flash of weird angles.

Finally the poem ends reminding me of an abstract painting called "The Order of the Angels."

Wow... there is a lot more here than the eye can see.

Sort:  

I always wondered how your writing would change when your mind got set on new challenges. I love it!!

I think it will continue to transform with life's barrages of joy and vicissitudes. :-) That's something I love dearly about art in general: and poetry specifically seems to document these phase-shifts well.

I start reading and think he is writing about people who don't want to be bothered with new languages. Then it seems like the poem took a twist and talked about the language learner's struggle to run to his or her "comfortable" language.

This poem had several immediate interpretative possibilities, this being the most direct. Well spotted! On a more esoteric layer, I was trying to imagine completely extraterrestrial languages from other galaxies. Of course, as something of an earthling myself, this stretches the imagination to its max. So from a concrete level I must by necessity draw parallels with the "alien" tongues of other countries on our very planet.

Finally the poem ends reminding me of an abstract painting called "The Order of the Angels."
Wow... there is a lot more here than the eye can see.

Thank you for your comment! Have a wonderful day :-)

I couldn't find a good picture but the painting is in Chicago. It takes up the whole room and is laying flat on the ground with several wires attached. There is no good photograph around. This is the closest I could find:

http://www.artic.edu/aic/collections/artwork/104086

But a lot of his other works can be found here:

https://tallerdepinturacreativa.com/anselm-kiefer-artisma-multidisciplinar/

Nanu, Nanu!!

The thing that always bothers me is that sound waves cannot resonate in space^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63506.20
ETH 3065.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04