It's my Birthday! Two days ago.. xD

in #escher7 years ago

Yep, June 27 is my birthday.
I had no idea what to expect from the day. My boyfriend said he had been planning to take me out to dinner. The thing is I can only eat quite small portions, always been like that, so I asked if maybe we could DO something instead of just going out to eat, since I cant really enjoy it anyway. He said he'd fix it. :)

So, the day came and all I knew was that we were leaving around 11 to take a train to Den Haag. My mind was raising, where was he taking me? A market? A craft store? Concert? Theater? Movies? All wrong. I guessed correctly when he said we were close and right next to us was a parking garage for the "museum district". WOHOO! Museum! :D

When we arrived outside my boyfriend looked at me all expectant and I was thrilled, I was, but he seemed confused. And I must say I was shocked when he, probably the least art interested person I know, exclaims "don't you know who Escher is?!". Uhm, no. I'm sorry I don't. Turns out I do know some of his work but the man is also DUTCH. No wonder he'd heard of him then. It's easier to keep track of domestic artists. In any case, it. was. brilliant. The museum was about M.C. Escher.
Here we are in front on the museum.2017-06-27 14.25.02.jpg

M.C. Escher was a dutch lithographer. He was born in 1898 and in his lifetime he was a pioneer of how we could view art in new lights. He had a fascination for patterns, mathematical influences and optical illusions. Many of you have probably seen a few of his works without knowing it, as I had. One of his most famous ones is probably "Drawing Hands", google it. :)
He wasn't particularly good in school, except for art. He moved around Europe a lot but loved the hills of Italy and you can see much of his work portraying the landscapes in his own way.

It was an exciting experience and I urge you to check out his works. Although his work is from over 50+ years ago, his art is still fascinating and inspiring today. That a mind can see those things and put them onto paper is amazing to me.

The visit also provided a different kind of information for me. The museum itself was set in a building that had once been used by the Dutch Royal family. So in between all of Eschers works there was information about what that particular room had been used for by the royal family. Being an immigrant to the Netherlands it's interesting to me to learn about these things as well!
All in all, it was briliant. :D

The evening was spent on the phone. First with my mom and then my bff M.

Oh! I also wanna share some of the amazing gifts I got.
As a Harry Potter freak and a tea lover, I'm over the moon!
2017-06-28 13.39.51.jpg2017-06-29 13.32.23.jpg
2017-06-29 13.35.05.jpg

I also got a museum card that is valid for over 400 museums in the Netherlands for a year! Next stop, Rijksmuseum in Leiden, the Egyptian Exhibition! :D

Sort:  

@frokenteddy, Hey Happy Birthday. I am @topdog from India. @playfulfoodie just posted if I could check on your page and here I am. Welcome to steemit. You are sure going to enjoy it and it is a great place to hangout and make new friends and make $$$!!.

Hi @topdog! Nice to meet you! Yes I saw her lovely post and I'm happy you came to see me! I'm sure I'll enjoy it, just need to find my rythm. :) Have a great day!

Happy Happy belated birthday and nice post... just for the record @playfulfoodie bullied me into coming here ...just so you know!! Oh well, seeing as I am here I may as well give the girl a vote for what is a decent article

Thank you! Haha, yeah I saw the post, she's so sweet! Well, you came, which is the most important thing to take away from this. xD I hope I'll see you around some more! Have a great day!

Well done @themagus, your lunch is safe for now...

{thumbs up}...Thanks heavens for that!!

@playfulfoodie brought me here and I like it! Your gifts were amazing.

Yaaaay! More awesome peeps come to see me! ^^ Ghehe, thanks, you a potterhead too?

wow.....that is great...HBD

Thank you! ^^

Yay, I'm so happy to hear you had such a great day! Those gifts look amazing too!
Awesome post, keep them coming :D

It really was. :) He can really get it right if he puts his mind to it. :D
I will try my hardest! :D

Actually, I think I see the problem here... what kind of tag is 'Escher' ?? Really!!
art history escher .... would have got a lot more views and exposure

Yeah, you're probably right about that. I'll definitely keep that in mind in the future! Thank you!

Happy belated birthday. Sounds like so much fun! Oh and btw very sweet couple.

Hihi! Double thank you! :D It really was. ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63242.16
ETH 3422.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41