How to Start an Escape Room Facility or Mobile Gaming Business

in #escaperoom7 years ago (edited)

I have owned Game of Clues L.L.C., an escape room company since March 2016. I absolutely am in love with creating my own puzzles and story themes. I fell in love with escape rooms after trying one out in February on my birthday in 2016. I knew based on my first experience that I could create a similar concept but, do it better. And so I did.

I just wish I discovered the opportunity sooner. It is my heart and soul to unite people to connect, learn, and grow through mental & physical challenges where players benefit from all the fun and development that occurs while playing with Game of Clues. We can accomplish anything in your experience it does not matter if you come to us for team building, family fun, celebrations, couples night, recreational fun, or something else.

My company started out in Novi, Michigan in a one room office space that was LESS than 150 square feet. I started my company working PART TIME on Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays with games happening every hour I was open. Approx. 6 months later I expanded to a 3 room escape room facility in Waterford, MI where in less than, a year my new building was sold and I found myself in a position to have to go mobile. Working over the course of my first 2 years I had a gross revenue of $120K.

Based on my experiences, let me share some how to get started tips for you that worked for me. I definitely suggest to start small if your going into a facility and save up enough before you expand to carry you through any potential slow months in a much larger facility. If you have any issues with getting customers (which I did not in the Novi, MI location) I highly recommend getting a business coach experienced in this line of business and join a Chamber of Commerce for at least a year and visit other Chambers to stay visible to the public. Community Expos & Donating to Charitable Events have also helped me. I also have donated my time to area schools. Most importantly, sell your services as a subscription service so that you have locked in revenue on your books you can count on.

For a mobile game these same strategies apply however, create a list of participating locations other than just taking your game to homes, offices, fairs, & etc. I am working on redoing my website to add all my participating locations to my site. Being heavy on social media & giving back to the community was important for me too.

Some companies I used to benefit my business:

Booking tool: https://www.bookeo.com/
Financial Tools: https://quickbooks.intuit.com/
CRM: https://www.hubspot.com/
Website: https://www.wix.com
Bulk Email: https://www.mailchimp.com
Clue Software: http://www.cluecontrol.com/index.html

For many more tips to help you get started you can contact me for consulting, buying into my brand, or sales plan coaching. My customers loved me so much they celebrated their bachelorette party with me and wedding day.

Keep an eye out for our Game Show on Comcast & Demand via WTV10 Waterford Media Network. Most likely it will air in 2019 as tapings are happening this year. Are you up for the challenge?

britt bachelorette.jpgbritt wedding.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54290.46
ETH 2276.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31