How do you measure deservedness?

in #equality6 years ago

Equal pay? Bullocks!

I've been pondering about life as I usually do in the morning. And what came to mind was the question: How much do I deserve? 

Do I deserve all the luck in the world? Plenty of people would reply: "No! Others are unlucky. It would be unfair to them."

Do I deserve all the wealth in the world? Plenty of people would reply: "No! Others are poor. It would be unfair to them."

Do I deserve a higher salary than others? Plenty of people would reply:"No! We're all created equal. Nobody deserves more money than the other."

Bullocks, bullocks, bullocks!

Don't I deserve more when I contribute more? Don't I deserve twice as much when I work twice as much? Don't I deserve three times more when I provide three times more value? To contradict would mean to oppose the most fundamental laws of the universe. The law of cause and effect. In this case, the more I give, the more I get. The more energy I give, the more energy will come back. You don't believe me? Try it out! You'll know it's true.

The crucial problem with deservedness and the entire discussion about equal pay is: How do you measure it?

Shall I get paid the same amount as someone who works less and provides less value? I think that would be unfair, ey? I can already hear the counter-argument: "A woman who does the exact same job as a man deserves the exact same salary as a man." My reply is: "No!" Not because I think that women and men are per se of different value, but because there's no such thing as "the exact same job"! Even in the extremely rare case of the exact same job description people perform differently! They don't work the exact same hours, and even if, they don't provide the same value! "Why is that?", you might ask.

Because.

We. 

Are. 

All. 

Different.

There's no such thing as the exact same person. We all have individual traits. Individual preferences. Individual talents and skills. And this is how it is supposed to be. Embrace your individuality! Embrace your authenticity! Embrace your own unique perspective on life!

The amount that you actually earn is to some degree dependent on your self-worth. If you know your worth, you will ask for more. If you ask for more you'll get more. I know plenty of women who earn more money than men in similar positions. Why? They asked for more! They risked more!

So back to the pivotal question:

How do we measure how much we deserve? There's no template I came across that would answer the question in satisfying way. If you do have a concept or a tool of measurement, let me know! Maybe I missed something!

If you ask me: The amount you deserve is the amount you receive. This can vary from person to person. Situation to situation. From time to time. The amount you receive is determined by the amount you demand which has to do with the value you create and is a reflection of your own self-worth.

How much is it for you?


Sort:  

You've covered everything. I think there is hardly anything to add.
What a pleasure to find this reflecting and calm position about payment (besides the bollock! ;-)) but that I give credit for we need to get attention somehow.

Funny, just today I had a client with me in the consultation who brought a similar topic with her. Just like another one that wasn't about money, but about recognition. Those who have no self-esteem and can only be satisfied when someone else attributes this value to them will never be satisfied. They will always feel a lack. And in the worst case, blame others for this lack.

In those cases where I don't receive what I deserve, it's either that the other person doesn't really have a budget or that he is trying to over-benefit me (and I let him) or that I have chosen a bad moment for the negotiation (and must find a better time). With the expectation of immediate success is what one must be careful with. Patience is the key.

I like very much your way of thinking. Bummer, nothing to debate here. LOL

P.S. I cannot complain about my income. I've chosen it to be small. Because, if I would demand more that would have effects on my overall life concept and I decided to reduce to the max. If this will change, my income has to change with me.

Well, what's small? Isn't that also entirely subjective? Doesn't it also depend on what you compare it with? Aren't you tremendously rich if your salary enables you to do what you love each and every day?

Exactly. It's subjective, comparative, and connected with what I have chosen to love. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84