Epoxy Paint Flake Floor Coating System!

in #epoxy7 years ago

IMG_0905.JPG

Here is the sample I have made for a large floor project in Volusia County Florida. This system is a top notch epoxy floor coating system for a garage, hangar or other floor. It can be installed over many different surfaces, but please contact a local representative before you attempt this project. Floor coatings are the most likely to fail if the preparation is not done correctly.

Here is what I did,

First, I got a nice smooth piece of plywood to act as my substrate. This epoxy floor system will be going onto bare concrete, that will be acid etched (muriatic acid) , hydro-scrubbed/power washed with a surface cleaner at 4,000 psi (you need to flush out all of the acid).

Second, I applied my base coat which is the Corotech Polyamide Epoxy. This is a two part epoxy paint that must we mixed in a specific ratio to work properly. (I picked a base color for the epoxy paint that matched one of the paint flake colors. This helps to hide the floor through the chips.)

Third, while the epoxy paint was still wet, I broadcasted out dry paint flakes. These paint flakes can be combined in a multi colored mix. Pick your favorite sports team and blend there colors for your man cave floor! I tried to cover about 80% of the surface with paint flakes (about 8 to 10 pounds of chips per 100 square foot of floor surface).

IMG_0906.JPG

Fourth. Once the paint chips dried in and the base coat had fully cured, I took a flat trowel and knocked off loose paint edges. Once the rough edges had been removed I swept the floor area to remove all of the loose flakes.

Fifth, now its time for two full finish coats of Urethane. I used SimthaneWB with a satin finish by Simiron.

IMG_0909.JPG

IMG_0907.JPG

IMG_0910.JPG

As you can see in the last couple pictures, the floor has a nice texture. It is not a completely slick surface and this coating is great for garages, hangars, warehouses etc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64063.06
ETH 3144.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55