You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Explained: Why Aren't More EOS Token Holders Voting? (...and Why They Should)

in #eos6 years ago

Greymass has a watch and offline wallet combo that is nearly as secure as a hardware wallet. The offline wallet signs the transaction generated by the watch wallet. Then you just send the json file back to the watch wallet that's connected to the internet. The only vulnerability is in the writing to cd or usb. You should format the usb before and after each use, then check slack space to make sure malware isn't trying to write your private key.

Sort:  

Excellent comment, thank you. I haven't messed with the watch wallet much yet, but that combo with an offline wallet sounds great.

That's how I voted, but I also did set up Scatter on my iMac after doing several scans. I did turn up one small piece of malware on my mac but it was locked into a backup and removed from the main drive about a year ago. One can never be sure an internet connected machine is clean, but my EOS is still staked where it should be. I have a couple of laptops that never connect to the internet (one because it can't using Vista that can't upgrade past SP1 due to hardware issues) and another that has private keys to several crypto's that I've also disabled deliberately.

I'm hoping to use EOS as a consensus mechanism for automating time change info using the Olson TZ Database and also registered "timezonedata" on EOS. I believe there might be a way to automate this using machines tied to IP that monitor clock changes by users who disagree with established "authority" which right now is controlled by manual releases headed by Paul Eggert, PhD. That database is free and maintained by volunteers, but I believe there might be a way to change the financial incentives to reduce the workload on volunteers and also maybe pay them back.

Very cool! Thanks for sharing. And well done on your security precautions. I wish more people in the space care about these details.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47