What's the Story Behind AirdropsDAC's Allegation on an EOS BP?

in #eos6 years ago

Hello friends!

For last two days, I was willing to read the details about some hacker's breach of AirdropsDAC's EOS account resulting into a loss of its HVT & ZKS tokens some of which were sold on NEWDEX exchange.

For this hacking incident, some serious, criminal accusations were made against EOS Block Producer EOSio.sg by AirdropsDAC in a Medium post.

The first thing I did after learning about this news was to check the rank of this EOS Block Producer. I found it to be ranked as top 12 BP.

Since I was busy to dig deeper into this issue, I just wanted to steer away from it and only checked if I was voting to this BP.

I've proxied all my EOS voting job to none other than amazing @lukestokes . I found that my proxy wasn't voting for this BP. So I was quite relaxed and thought to go through this issue at leisure.

Today, I read the accused BP eosiosg11111's clarification on this issue that was posted yesterday. BP had strongly refuted the allegations along with extending their apologies to AirdropsDAC for their oversight. I was also waiting for their official response to all the questions put to them on this issue which were promised to be answered in their Medium post by today evening.

However they didn't made any post for it (until now). But they came up with another post yesterday itself in which they published their investigation which led them to the identity of the hacker's Github account. Hence they proved that it was not related to this BP in any manner.

Unfortunately, I couldn't go through the AirdropDAC's original post about it as it was deleted by now.

If you know about this incident, will you please let me know what exactly happened?

Allegations made by AirdropDAC appeared very serious to me but after the second post made by BP, their stand was vindicated ....at least IMO. Of course, the mention of accidental account creation, then making its public/private key public for over two months long period by a professional BP of EOS looks murkier to me.

But I'm curious to know what made AidropsDAC to come up with such serious allegations against this BP. Do enlighten me over it.

Thanks a lot!

Sort:  

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by xyzashu from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94