You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to check which EOS public key is mapped to your ETH address with MyEtherWallet (MEW)

in #eos7 years ago (edited)

I'm afraid I need a bit of clarity about this entire process.

Before I began to try to "register" my EOS tokens, they were safely stored in my Trezor wallet.

I have now gone through all the steps. In fact, I've done it a few times.

But when I check, at the end of the process, for the mapping of the two addresses, i.e., when I click "READ" in MyEtherWallet -> Contracts -> EOS Contribution dropdown -> Access -> keys, I get a big fat nothing: No address appears under "string".

So that all I know is that I have moved my EOS tokens out of my Trezor wallet, and sent them to some address.

I do have the address I sent them to (insofar as I see it in the Ethplorer record of my transaction), but I have no confirmation or "mapping" of my address to a public EOS address.

In other words, my EOS tokens are no longer in my own custody, they are at some -- to-me -- mysterious address.

Even if I did have this "two-addresses-mapped-together" type of "confirmation," it seems to me that the whole "register" process is not just a registering of my EOS tokens: We are in fact being asked to send our EOS tokens away, out of our own possession. And are therefore being asked to trust that our tokens are safe with someone else, until the EOS blockchain is created.

(Or, perhaps I am wrong about this, and I should still be seeing my tokens in my Trezor wallet. AM I wrong?)

Am I understanding this correctly?

Is there any way that, AFTER "registering", we should still see that we have our EOS tokens in our own wallet? Because mine are not in my wallet, my Trezor wallet. They are now at another address. I seem to have simply lost them. Of course, I hope I haven't lost them, but I don't know.

I have saved in a safe place and still have my EOS public-private key-pair that I generated at the EOS Key Generation website, https://nadejde.github.io/eos-token-sale/

(I did not, repeat, did not at any time paste any private key anywhere.)

I can still access the record of my transaction on Ethplorer, and the "From" and "To" addresses are there, with the transfer time and the transaction hash address.

(At one point, I saw the following:

Go to Send Ether & Tokens Page
Unlock same wallet you are unlocking here.
Send Amount you want to Contribute to 0xd0a6E6C54DbC68Db5db3A091B171A77407Ff7ccf
Gas Limit: at least 90000
Claim EOS Tokens
Select claimAll.
Unlock wallet
Amount to Send: 0 · Gas Limit: at least 90000

So I did that. Does my having done that mean that I actually "claimed" my EOS tokens instead of "registering" them?) (Though I'm not sure what "claimed" would mean exactly, in this context.)

What I'd like to know is:

(1) Have I in fact "registered" my tokens properly?

(2) How am I to "confirm" that I have "registered" my tokens properly? How do I know this?

(3) Can I still create this confirmation?

(4) How do I re-gain verifiable control, custody and ownership of my own EOS tokens?

(5) Why was it never made clear that "registering" my tokens is really MOVING my tokens to an address outside my control, that it's really a process of me sending my tokens to someone else?

Can anyone shed light on all this?

If needed, I can provide further specific information about what I've done in my attempts to successfully make this transaction according to the 4 or 5 tutorials I've read on steemit.com about it.

I do not, by the way, use Exodus, which I gather is another type of wallet. I am also not using MetaMask, but if I need to use either MetaMask or Exodus to make this transaction correctly, I will. (Though I don't think it's necessary to use either of them.)

As stated previously, I use the Trezor device - the standalone "cold strorage" wallet, and it has so far served me well.

Again, I am primarily worried that I have no actual "confirmation" that my EOS tokens are "registered."

sandwich, I appreciate your efforts very much. But, if possible, someone -- anyone who is able -- please advise.
.
.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56775.06
ETH 2345.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36