You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Claim your EOS Tokens after Buying on Bitshares (or commit suicide)

in #eos6 years ago

I was under the impression that OpenLedger will register my OPEN.EOS for me?

http://cryptofresh.com/a/OPEN.EOS_GDEX.EOS
OPEN.EOS is OpenLedger-issued asset for EOS Ethereum token.
After EOS release it will be replaced by "real" eos

Sort:  

Good to know. Thanks for the clarification. I operate under the principle that Andreas Antonopoulos often cites: "your keys your coins, not your keys not your coins". When I couldn't find the private keys for my ETH addresses on Bitshares, I knew I wasn't in control.

If you're comfortable with holding your coins on an exchange, then I suppose the situation would be similar to what happened when bitcoin forked last August and you were holding on Coinbase. Those users eventually got an equal amount of BCH the following January (early this year), but they had to wait 5 months. I don't know what OpenLedger will do, but you should assume that they could become an MtGox either intentionally or by accident.

The reason I want to control my own keys is because of this scenario...

You might want to upvote your own comment here for visibility because it's important and I don't have enough voting power to put it in first place currently.

I would upvote it, but as you say, it's not entirely clear what will OpenLedger do regarding OPEN.EOS registration. It's far too vague, don't want anyone to think "OK, so no worries, they are on it 100%".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66989.66
ETH 3120.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75