The BitCoin is the dollar of the Cryptocurrencies

in #eos6 years ago

When we travel from one country to another, for business or pleasure, we should probably convert part of our money into the local currency of the country to which we are going. This is because in most countries the own currency is used for the local economy. However, to export or import any type of value, the currency used is the dollar, since it is the most accepted reserve currency.

With BitCoin happens something very similar. There are many cryptocurrencies in different exchanges but the vast majority (if not all) accept BitCoins, either to import or to export value of the platform.

One could assume that those two currencies (each in its context) are the ones with the greatest value backing, however, this statement can not be further from the truth. In both cases the only value that backs the currency is the acceptance by the people and that is about to change.

bitcoin-dolar-billetes.jpg

In the case of the dollar you could argue that it is the only currency with which you can buy oil. That was true until March 26 of this year when China began selling oil futures contracts competing with the West Texas Intermediate of New York and London Brent, which until then were the only ones when marketing oil future contracts.

In the case of BitCoin, you could claim that it is a decentralized, censorship-resistant, 24x7 functional currency and fast transactions with low commissions. Well, that's not the case anymore. All these characteristics are true, but BitCoin is no longer the only currency with these characteristics and therefore its current valuation does not make sense (~ 10K USD May 2018).

Both currencies are being threatened by their competition and it is very likely that we will see them being displaced by an alternative currency that without warning is going to apear backed up with a real value and not based on speculation.

The Chinese Yuan now is backed by the gold reserves of China, which is much more than what the US can offer at this moment. Similarly, EOS has the same characteristics as BitCoin, adding not only scalability and eliminating fees, but also adding the possibility of creating smart contracts on one of the most promising technology platforms of this year.

I am not saying that it will happen overnight, nor that these two alternative currencies will replace the current leaders. But it is something that can happen sooner rather than later.

eos-yuan.png

Sort:  

@viterbo These comparative between money was good. The way that comun people can use crypto is yet in front.
Thanks you for this great post.

As promised...
I present my project, Cards & Tokens:
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@viterbo/introducing-cards-and-tokens

I would love to know your opinion.

If you have a wallet in Ethereum you can participate in the promo. We are giving away Tokens to those who help us to promote the project.

Help us to get to more people.

Thank you !!

Nice to meet you.
If you follow me, I'll promise bring high quality content only.
I'm deep into crypto and I'm about to publish about a project I'm working on right now.
see you around

Totally!

I had never thought of bitcoin playing the role of the dollar in the crypto world. Good comparison!

Are those coins for real? the ones in the photos I mean...

LOL, I don't know. The first pic I took it from Internet.
The second one was made by me using Gimp and other photos from the cloud too.

though, I think the BitCoin in the first photo is real because there are many photos of that coin from different angles.

There are hardware wallets designed in coin shape. You can buy them online.
Not that I recommend actually storing btc into then.

I present my project, Cards & Tokens:
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@viterbo/introducing-cards-and-tokens

I would love to know your opinion. Thank you !!

I didn't know that. I would love to have one. Just to have it, not to actually use it as a wallet. They look great!
Thanks for the info

Hi, great post, worth a follow.

As promised...
I present my project, Cards & Tokens:
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@viterbo/introducing-cards-and-tokens

I would love to know your opinion.

If you have a wallet in Ethereum you can participate in the promo. We are giving away Tokens to those who help us to promote the project.

Help us to get to more people.

Thank you !!

Thanks. Actualy I'm gathering some followers to start posting the content that I really want to share.
Stay Tune. I'll not disappoint you!

Great article, thanks for sharing. I've smashed the upvote button for you!

Also, if you are looking to get some tokens without investing or mining check out Crowdholding (https://www.crowdholding.com). They are a co-creation platform were you get rewarded for giving feedback to crypto startups on the platform. You can earn Crowdholding's token as well as DeepOnion, ITT, Smartcash and many other ERC-20 tokens.

Very interesting! I will definitely check it out

Congratulations @viterbo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Total foreseeable future, Bitcoin is and will be the fundamental standard to mesure everything else. Cool post

I present my project, Cards & Tokens:
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@viterbo/introducing-cards-and-tokens

I would love to know your opinion. Thank you !!

BitCoin now has the Lighting network layer up and running and that allows real micropayments super fast with no fees. That's a great improvement and has the potential to grow even higher the value of BitCoin.
That being said, BitCoin has the problem of a small total supply. If it were adopted by everybody, its value would be several million and that would make micropayments difficult because the prices would be very small fractions.
Thanks for commenting and please follow me. I will be releasing great content soon.

I see your point. It is the medium of exchange you cant buy an altcoin without buying bitcoin first.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61213.69
ETH 3320.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46