The Great EOS Mind Trick.

in #eos6 years ago



'However, don't forget to buy some RAM with those tokens you paid through the nose for.'


This can only be good for Steem and SMTs.

This Knight feels the pain of the EOS app developers though.


Sort:  

Need I add anything!

You have to warn @sniffnscurry not to approach this cheese :) it's very dangerous for them

I feel that this scene from our good old Tom and Jerry cartoons says it all too!

Funny that you mention it, but Steem plays the same mind trick. You must have some SP (staked Steem) to transact on Steem blockchain.

You don't consume STEEM transacting slavix. As far as this Knight can see, used RAM is gone forever.

This doesn't sound right. RAM is used to store memory for a DApp but should also be able to be freed up, released and sold.

Where are you getting this info?

Hey B - it cost this Knight about $0.40 worth of RAM simply to unstake less than 100 EOS tokens. From what I can see, this RAM is now categorised as used - and as far as I am aware I will be unable to sell this RAM in the future. I really hope I am wrong, because if not, usership of EOS will be limited and when the next 'TRUE FREE TRANSACTION PLATFORM is established - users will migrate there.

Minimum a new EOS account needs for some basic operations is 4KB of RAM. At current prices it costs about (0.1 EOS / KB) 0.4 EOS or $3.20 per account. More can be bought if needed.
For basic operation a Steem account needs at least 6 SP.

This Knight wants you to be right Slavix.

This Knight understands that you need about 5-6 SP in your account to transact. However this 5-6 SP remains in your account and you can transact nearly as much as you like per day.

The RAM does not appear to replenish. As such, once you have executed x number of transactions, you need to buy more RAM. So to me this is an expense of using EOS. Now you might say - but you can sell the RAM when you are finished with it. My question is - can I sell the RAM that I used to unstake my funds? If the answer is 'no', this is not a free transaction.

On Steem it costs me nothing to stake, unstake, vote, transfer etc.

SK.

OK now 99% certain you are right - have just done a couple more tests - not using any RAM. Thank you for your persistence.

I will draft a public EOS apology soon.

SK.

Actually Slavix - you might still be right - my RAM usage might be up simply because of the 3 day unstaking period - I will let you know what happens when the unstake is complete - this makes me happy.

I just sold some RAM for double the price I bought it for too. This also makes me happy.

SK.

RAM can be recovered when no longer needed and sold. No EOS is consumed transacting.
However RAM price maybe higher or lower in the future, so you can earn or lose some EOS when selling.

But well, with just 5 Steem staked as SP, you can perform a reasonable number of transactions on the blockchain.

This can't be compared to EOS.

Your refusal to compare EOS and Steem makes no sense. Reasonable number of transactions can be performed with very little staked EOS.

Sounds like some EOS FUD right there.... I have done some small transactions on the EOS blockchain and not had to sacrifice any RAM?

You might want to check again Scotty. We were all given 7.96KB of RAM initially. Every time you transact your Free Memory Level decreases. Until you get to the point where you cannot transact unless you buy more RAM.

Believe me - I want to be wrong.

Check out your account on http://eosflare.io/account

Enter account name, not public key.

I had been waiting for it to power back up etc - nope, nothing.

When you burn through RAM buying names etc - fine, needs to be a fee to stop spam. But using RAM to unstake, or move tokens.... not good.

SK.

Interesting SK. I had not noticed this before...... Surely something will have to be done about this otherwise it will be too expensive to operate on EOS! Thanks for pointing this out...

Ignore me Scotty - looks like I was spreading FUD afterall. Transaction of EOS tokens are certainly free. Unstake - I think this must use RAM for the 3 day unstaking period only.

SK.

I need to know more about EOS

you'd have to think about it, before buying

Thank you for informing Lord, for some it is good news, for others it is not.

Greetings sir.

Another amazing update sir.
Thanks for keeping us updated.

thank you for the information god bless you!!!

Trying to understand what is conveyed here ( not a techie).

So it would be similar to loosing SP as you make transasctions but not being able to recharge it within 24 hours ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84