Getting into EOS, here's what I'm doing so far. Buying an account name, getting a wallet, joining Trybe and mining bodi

in #eos6 years ago (edited)

eos.jpg

I have found EOS difficult to understand but I had the same problem with steem and steemit at first, so I thought I might as well try some things out and see how it goes. My first surprise was that you can get a free wallet but you currently have to pay for an account name I did a search and found one for $6 but that was quite expensive. The cheapest way I have found so far, thanks to @marketingmonk, is the EOS Lynx app on android http://eoslynx.com/ This cost me £0.79. You can use it on Apple iOS as well and, as I wanted another name, I did that but it cost me $2. I don't know if the price varies but for me, it was cheaper with android. There's a windows desktop version too but that asked for a credit card and as I'm in the UK, I wasn't sure if I would get charged for the conversion from pounds to dollars, so I haven't tried that.

You need to think of a unique 12 character name consisting of lowercase letters and numbers. I see there's a market to trade these names, so that might be worth investigating.

I've seen that all this might change in the future, shorter names and they will probably have to make them free but I like getting in early.

After getting my EOS wallet, I joined Trybe. There's lots of useful information about EOS there and its a good place to ask questions. They're also giving 50 free tokens for referrals, so here's my link but if you don't want to use it, just copy the first bit http://trybe.one/ref/4012/ There's an airdrop on December 11th, based on your Trybe balance, so now is a good time to start building it up.

There's a lot of EOS airdrops but I don't have much EOS. I found boid, this is like mining with a CPU but they use all the CPU power for medical research, climate research, astronomy and machine learning. For using my CPU power, they compensate me with boid tokens, that I can hopefully exchange for EOS in the future. Here's my referral link and again, you can just copy the first bit if you don't want to use it app.boid.com/u/sharpshot

Please let me know if you have any interesting information about EOS. I like that it has strong links with steem and hopefully they can both do very well.

Sort:  

Boid works but my Boid power is still zero. The discord link on their site doesn't work. Can't get a response on their chat. I'll give up on it for now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Got a reply by email and got it going after complete uninstall and reinstall.

Another great tool for people creating their first wallet on EOS is https://eos-account-creator.com/ which allows new users to create an EOS account using a smart contract, so there is no risk involved and being able to pay using funds transferred directly from your exchange.

You just planted 0.13 tree(s)!


Thanks to @sharpshot

We have planted already 3751.58 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 35548.09
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63768.57
ETH 2478.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54