Feel Confident

in #eos7 years ago


The good news is that everybody feels confident about something; there are no
exceptions to this rule. You may think you aren’t a very confident person, but when the time comes to order food at a restaurant, plan a holiday, or complain of a bank overcharging you then you know you have the ability to get the job done. You will feel pretty confident when a telephone bill comes through your door charging you for calls
you haven’t made, when this happens observe how assertive you become and what you
say to yourself and how you feel inside. This is confidence in action!
Yet the flip side to this is at other times you may feel the complete opposite, nervous,
unsure of yourself, worried and anxious, what is happening here? Are you running two
different programs at different times? People who say they aren’t confident still know
what it feels like to be confident, they have access to (whether they realise it or not)
resources which will make them feel confident regardless of where they happen to be or
what situation they are in. By taking baby steps in any new activity confidence inevitably
follows as the person slowly but surely becomes competent and starts to make progress.
When people say they aren’t confident they are usually referring to a specific situation in
which rather than feel confident, they feel unsure of themselves. Rather than say ‘I am not confident’ which is a lie, (everybody is at something) it is better at least to be specific about it, for example:
I am not confident when driving at night

I am not confident talking in large groups

I am not confident in social situations

I am not confident in my ability to give presentations

I am not confident in my ability to lose weight
Or whatever it may be, likewise when you hear people say they ‘want more confidence’,
it is far too general a statement, in what situation do they want to have more confidence?
For example:
I would like to have more confidence when talking to people I have just met

I would like to be more confident when speaking in front of others

I would like to have more confidence when speaking with my boss

I want to feel more confident when I am at job interviews

I would like to feel more confident when driving at night

I want more confidence when I am dealing with my bank manager

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67095.54
ETH 3462.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71