You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A small dive into EOS: First up, why is there no Account Recovery System?

in #eos5 years ago

I'm in two minds about whether steem should lose the account recovery system..

It seems well set up to just keep my master key stored offline and relatively easy to just use my posting key for, well... posting, which is what I store in my browser, and then the occassional use of my active key for transactions which I keep in an obscurely named doc on my main pc.

However I don't have a fire proof safe so my physical offline storage is at risk, and the majority of people don't have these and don't understand the importance of not using master keys to sign in (I only 'got this' a few months ago following a chance conversation with @coruscate).

Then there's this dilemma - mass adoption and retention are more likely with an account recovery system, but if steem inc is going to whither away and steem become truly decentralised then who do we trust to recover hacked accounts?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

The beauty of the Steem Account Recovery system is that you decide who the Recovery Account is. It could be a friend or relative or just another account that you control.

The Recovery Account cannot temper with your account without access to your private keys.

I like it. As we have the ability to lock up funds, on Steem and EOS it makes sense to have a disaster recovery mechanism should the account get compromised. Who wants to be the guy that gets hacked and has 13 weeks to watch someone slowly siphon funds out of their account?

Interesting thoughts. This is the first time I’m hearing about the account recovery system of Steem, and dozens of questions are popping up in my head.

For starters, who ensures that the person I have chosen for my recovery is not compromised in the first place? Isn’t that a way around to getting hands on your account?
Another is that, when one makes use of the account recovery, does it involve application specific recovery like Steemit or dtube and the rest, it is it recovering your identity in the base layer blockchain?

I apologize in advance if these questions seems too silly, I’m just hearing about it from you.
Thanks.

Great info @nanzo-scoop

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68094.05
ETH 3777.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71