You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Could EOS Become the Most Widely Distributed ICO Ever?

in #eos7 years ago

EOS is headed to raising 60 million ether with no project to show yet. I am not a hater- I like EOS idea and I bought some tokens- but I see it as highly speculative.
It's dangerous to invest in promises. Promises of new tech, promises of revenues. (Anyone remember pets.com?)
Personally I have more confidence in projects that are live, even in a beta stage. Projects like Lbry and onG.Social.
In the case of onG they are live with more users than Steemit and have not yet had their ICO (its next week). Now all crypto investments have risk but that seems more solid to me.

Sort:  

Yeah, you are absolutely right !
Most ICOs are just potential no reall value yet.
Ongcoin is one of the few icos that have laready working product with lots of users which makes it a low
risk investment. But at the same time it has alot of potential. It has the potential to become the new FB.
Low risk + High potential = Good investment !

Now that I've studied a bit more I feel that there are lot of trust related problems regarding EOS. As EOS tokens are now based on eth blockchain and that they do not have any rights towards the actual EOS platform (check out the terms) I'm reclutant to invest in this coin. IMO onG seems more trustworthy project that EOS atm. About Lbry I don't know that much about.

Ong social is backed by IBM. Like u rightly said there are already users in ONG social. Makes a legit project for me

I hadn't heard of onG.Social before. Looks interesting. Nothing on their home page about the ICO. Also interesting.

I agree, solid investments are the way to go when you can get them, but I also think the huge returns come from larger risks which involve bets on paradigm shifting technologies. If onG is already up and running, do they really need a coin? Will it really be a paradigm shift? EOS, to me, could be. Banks, governments, corporations, non-profits, etc... they will all be impacted by smart contract technology on the blockchain. Entrepreneurs in the future will ask themselves questions like, "Do we want to spin up some servers on AWS to run this the old fashioned way or should we rent / buy some EOS and put it on the blockchain?"

That's a paradigm shift and, if it works, it could be huge

As to the pets.com comparison, Dan does have projects to show already. So the promise there isn't an empty one.

The ICO is called ongcoin
It is at the bottom of the page.