You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You Ignorant About EOS, STEEM, and DPOS?

in #eos6 years ago

If you're a Steem witness and you're instrumental in the EOSDac team, that's going to make you incredibly influential in the very near future.
Power granted voluntarily, (and withdrawn at will) is still power.
Don't shy away from it just because evil people have wielded similar in the past.
People want leadership, and I'd rather they found it in a voluntaryist than anywhere else.

Sort:  

Which definition of Power are you using?

  1. the ability to do something or act in a particular way, especially as a faculty or quality.
  2. the capacity or ability to direct or influence the behavior of others or the course of events.
  3. physical strength and force exerted by something or someone.
  4. energy that is produced by mechanical, electrical, or other means and used to operate a device.

If #1, then I guess that makes sense?

#2 I don't like because it seems to drift away from voluntary interactions. #3 is fine as long as it's not over someone else. #4 is technical and doesn't apply.

I'm for leadership, vision casting, creating education that influences people because it's based on reason, logic, and evidence... but power? Well, power corrupts. I don't want power. I want people to think for themselves. I guess, in a way, I want everyone to have power as in the #1 sense of the word so that no one else could rule over them (including me).

As a witness you have power over the blockchain, where a great deal of my kids' inheritance is invested.
Those vests give me some power to pick and choose witnesses, but the witnesses can collectively make changes, increasing or decreasing the long term value of that investment.
Don't be shy to wield that power. Decisions have to be made somewhere.

The developers have far more power, IMO. They right the code. Witnesses just say "yes" or "no" when it comes to deploying the code.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78