You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Casper as an EOS Contract

in #eos7 years ago

I noticed you mentioned this twice, and it's a key point:

Not doing this is against the economic best interest of the majority. The end result will likely mirror the distribution of mining pools where there are less than 10 individuals deciding the entire consensus.

I like how DPOS encourages people to vote based on their own long-term interests which are for the entire network, not some immediate financial gain. I also agree with Vitalik's comments about the information asymmetry involved (i.e. politics) in trying to keep voters engaged and informed enough to make good decisions. To test this, I wrote some code last night to analyze voter engagement (using an arbitrary definition of "had to post at least once" to mean an "active" account) to find we only have 7.5% engagement among active accounts. If you call > 100 posts active, that percentage grows closer to 50%. Still though, I think we as a community have some work to do to explain to people the importance and benefit of regularly voting on witnesses and keeping those votes updated as things change. I plan to do a regular weekly report to show how the voting engagement is changing over time and who the top accounts by VEST are who are not voting for a witness.

You can read more here: How Many Steemians Are NOT Voting for a Witness? I Found the Answer!

Sort:  

Nicely done! So 50%, eh? Sounds very similar to typical US voter turnout :P

much better than US voter turnout. and here our votes actually do something

You took my words :( But I didn't need to type much either.

My dear beloved steemit members. In the end, I love the inner love and respect of my heart. Today, I will tell you some truth about the purpose of all of you. Hope everyone will think about the matter. Initially, I want to say that this is a social networking site. It is not the means of earning money. However, yes it is creating a good opportunity for us. Which is good for all. But sadly, there is no post in it. Look at it. And one thing is very difficult that everyone just wants to follow him, but he does not follow anyone. So my request to everyone is mine. That everyone is helping everyone by steemit Build a family
follow and @shahaalam

As always quite insightful Luke, I am likely part of that missing activity, as I have been un-engaged throughout the summer...Come winter I will be hobbled in front of my computer again.

My dear beloved steemit members. In the end, I love the inner love and respect of my heart. Today, I will tell you some truth about the purpose of all of you. Hope everyone will think about the matter. Initially, I want to say that this is a social networking site. It is not the means of earning money. However, yes it is creating a good opportunity for us. Which is good for all. But sadly, there is no post in it. Look at it. And one thing is very difficult that everyone just wants to follow him, but he does not follow anyone. So my request to everyone is mine. That everyone is helping everyone by steemit Build a family
follow and @shahaalam

Flagging for spam.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61800.05
ETH 2496.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64