You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introduction to EOS: the Epic (blockchain) Operating System

in #eos7 years ago

I still don't understand what this actually do. Will people running the nodes be actually running the OS?

Sort:  

So, I'm not an expert, just a guy who is interested and trying to answer the same question as you. Basically, there will be many similarities to Bitshares and Steem, just more general. So, the system will be delegated proof of stake, which means (as far as I know) that only the witnesses are actually running the full EOS blockchain. Then many different users who are interested in specific apps (like Bitshares or Steem) can run significantly reduced code on their computer that interacts with the blockchain, but only with the data from the app they are interested in. That's my naive understanding. I need to learn more.

I assume STEEM is a more "application specific" blockchain, and EOS will be more Ethereum based and generic, to run many kinds of apps.
To me, it's very interesting that Dan wants to work with Ethereum at all. Here is someone that has "rolled their own" blockchain and is now working with Ethereum, so I'm thinking he learned something from Brenden and BAT?

Good points. I wouldn't say EOS is ethereum based though. The only connection to Eth is the ico, and that was simply because Eth is pretty much the only smart contract platform that would allow an auditable distribution. Once the initial token distribution is settled, the Erc-20 tokens will be locked on the Eth network and there will be no connection at all.

I see, I see, that's very interesting, and NOT OBVIOUS, even after I had read much of the white paper. Thanks for helping clarify that.

Trogdor, I have created an Ethereum account. How do I use that to hold EOS? Erc-20 is a new term for me, how does that work?

Heya trogdor,

You may also be interested in FriendUP. It is a full OS you can download or request from here:

https://friendup.cloud

https://github.com/FriendUPCloud/friendup

Peer to peer networking makes for an exciting time in terms of the next phase of internet development. This is especially the case when it is questioning perceived relationships between hardware and software - translating it all into code in the case if the Friend Unifying Platform (FriendUP).

If you want to know more just ping us at our Telegram group: https://t.me/friendupcloud

They are confusing me by calling it an operating system. For now I will just summarize it as a smarter Ethereum platform.
Thanks for your post.

The OS concept comes from the provision of aggregated common services used by the applications that will sit "on top" of EOS. With a form of directory services complete with delegated rights model, database services etc. , the term OS comes closer than maybe any other label, unless you want to call it something like "Common Services Abstraction Layer for Blockchain" :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75