Quickest Path to Becoming a Programmer

in #eos6 years ago (edited)

It really sucks playing catch up in the crypto/software development world. I feel like there are so many opportunities out there but learning the basics takes time and focus. I've always be interested in programming but have never had the motivation to follow through with any projects. My background is in the project management space (mostly pharmaceutical manufacturing). The crypto space has hit a nerve with me over the past year. I've been consisting spending ~3 hours a day learning about the industry. I've been playing on GitHub over the past couple of days and hoping to share some of my findings soon. At this point in the game, I've decided to pick one platform (EOS) and see how far I can get. Let me know if you have any resources that could be helpful. I've been poking around on EOSGo a bit.

Sort:  

whats the best idea for a dApp or feature you could build with EOS so far?

Friend, everything good takes time and dedication, you do not reach any good goal without effort, I recommend you to start studying programming, there are many good languages, especially Python, I think it is one of the most useful. You can get a lot of good information on the internet, on YouTube for example, and the best thing is that it's free.

Thanks for the advice. I've been working with Java and C++. Will look at Python as well.

Your best option is to pick one and deep dive into it. They all have their differences, but knowing the fundamentals of programming will make learning a different language rather easy.

Thanks for the info.

Do not start with c++. Although the base code of eos.io is written in c++, you can interface with its core in Java or JavaScript or even c# without to many hassles if you know how to bind a wrapper to a native library. I think C# is the clearest option, and has a lot of support to do just that. But if anyone would be so brave to make a nodejs interface, you could do JavaScript as well. On the other hand, sticking with pure smart contracts probably fixes you against solidity for at least the near future.

Thanks for the comment. Great information!!

My advice: Expect it to take years for true results. Stay focused and patient with yourself.

Brother im in the same boat as you. coding is so new to me and i feel lost in the ocean of crypto. Python is what i will be focusing on. I think long term if we spend a year to master this technology. it ill be worth more than investing 10k in the crypto market now. no quick way to wealth other than hard work. New to steem, follow and i follow back !

i want to learn it bbut i just fear i am so far behind i feel like i would be like billy madison.

it's a great trick but needs to learn more from it, as it takes time to be a programmer, there is no shortcut...

This post has received gratitude of 14.31 % from @appreciator thanks to: @jjcali.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95