A US citizen's book entry into steemit on how to get into the EOS smart contract blockchain. Part 6

in #eos6 years ago (edited)

This is an update to my steemit book entry on my venture into the new world of EOS.
Please refer to my previous post chain using this link.

https://steemit.com/eos/@jayem/a-us-citizen-s-book-entry-into-steemit-on-how-to-get-into-the-eos-smart-contract-blockchain-part-5

So this week I finally got myself a EOS username, this is a milestone and was easier than I though. With the help of this you tube video all I needed was a credit card

- How to create an EOS Account - A Step by Step Guide

This sets you up with all of the basics that you need for your EOS account, which is RAM for the user name and tokens staked at 0.1 EOS each for CPU and Network. At that time it cost me under $17.

Well that's that. Now I have some open,EOS asset in bitshares that I would have to transfer to my EOS account for real EOS tokens. This is done by using the openledger portal in bitshares to make that transfer but after a few days of trying this method it kept telling me that this server was down and I need to try again later. Frustratingly,I give up on openledger as I found out that gdex was working. I sold all of my open.EOS assets and then bought some gdex.EOS with some transaction loss. Then I transferred those over successfully using the gdex portal this time, although it does take several hours for the transaction to be confirmed successful.

One of the first thing that I wanted to do to honor my arrival into this new EOS world was to cast my votes for block producers. Using eos-voter from greymass I go thru and select about 20 BPs just to be given an error in the as follows:

"error_the transaction was unable to complete by deadline, but it is possible it could have succeeded if it were allowed to run to completion".

Oh yeah, that make sense, not. So I try again and get this on the next dialog:

"3081001: leeway_deadline_exception Transaction reached the deadline set due to leeway on account CPU limits"

I try several more times without any success. Maybe I need to wait for the 3 days for the staked CPU and Network tokens to be cleared, I don't know. So I try simplEOS to cast my vote. With simplEOS I have to keep retrying just to log onto the chain. Sometime I would retry 10-20 time before I finally get on, other times it would get onto the chain right away, other times seem like it would never get on. So at a couple of times when simplEOS finally got on the chain, I went ahead and cast my votes just to have the program take the vote and just sit there with a blank screen and never confirming the vote being counted. At one point trying eos-voter it finally told me that my vote info was received but not necessarily confirmed by the blockchain. It gave me an link to see if it was on the chain, and the link showed that nothing was there. So I tried again and now I was back on the same error message loop as before.

This getting frustrating, there are a lot of bugs or glitched that I had to get through to get to this point. I am almost there and I still get these stupid little glitches here and there without any good explanations. Another glitch that I am encountering is the fact that my silver quints token are not being bought by anyone on the bitshare exchange unless I drastically discount them, and I don't want to do that. So I called quintric and talk to Ted that tells me that they plan on having quintric add liquidity for the quints token on bitshares, but this won't be in full effect until the end of summer. And talking with Ted, he tells me that I am one of the first to be using quints and therefore I am a pioneer I guess. I am okay with that, its just frustrating right now, but I know this will all pay off eventually.

So for now, at least I have my EOS account and name, which by the way is momechdesign (12 characters) for Morin Mechanical Design, my engineering business that I have been running. I am a 55 year old mechhanical design engineer doing some freelance work for the past decade or so and hoping that I could get some work early on on the EOS platform.

Frustrated but not giving up. I would not have gotten anywhere in life if every time I got frustrated I gave up.
So stay tuned for my update next week. Wish me luck.

And as always, questions and comments are appreciated.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jayem! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62959.39
ETH 2453.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62