A US citizen's book entry into steemit on how to get into the EOS smart contract blockchain.

in #eos6 years ago (edited)

And really, instead of "smart contract blockchain" It should really say "self governance system" in that title. But I'll go with this title for now.

I can't believe that I actually have more that 300 followers. I really don't write much content by I do upvote and resteem and rarely comment. So I appreciate the follows and I figured that I should at least contrubute a little something for my followers and anyone else.

These entries are for those of you, like me, that do not have any cryptos, except maybe for what you have on steemit, and would like to see what the process is like to get onto the EOS blockchain.

I used to own bitcoins, I had put in about $100 dollars that eventually ballooned to about $1000 when the MT Gox event happened. I was in the process of transferring a portion out into FRNs and few a week or so later they were telling me that my withdrawal was not going to happen any time soon. So I have approx 1 bitcoin that is owed to me, but I would just assume that I will never see that coin again. If you have been following the Mt Gox settlement you know it a joke, but that's another topic.

I sold our house a few years back to get rid of my debt and I am now living in an RV with a positive net worth mostly in PMs.

And so now, forso many reasons that I would not get into at the moment, I am really exited about what I see going on with EOS. I understand the power of blockchains and I think EOS will do a great job of exploiting this power for a world wide free market self governing system.

So how do I get onto the EOS blockchain?

Because of my Mt. Gox claims they referred my claim account to Kraken. So I've had a Kraken account for a few years now with a $0 balance waiting for the Mt Gox settlement.

Now in order to withdraw and deposit money from my Kraken account I have to be "tier 3 verified", which means that I have to prove my residency (no PO boxes) and a photo ID . I would not really have had a residency, really since I am in an RV, except that we decided to stay in Asheville NC for a while and got ourselves a UPS store address that looks like a residence as apposed to a PO box. I sill have a NH driver's license, where we escaped from, so I hope that it will suffice.

Because, I had already tried to get "tier 3 verified" about a year ago, the Kraken account says that the verification process is still active and so I need to deal with their customer service and get the verification resubmitted. So stay tuned for my next post on the next step onto this exciting new world of EOS.

If you have any questions or comments please let me know in the comments below. And if you think others could benefit from my experience and these posts please resteem.

Note: I believe that unlike steemit you need to put in a stake in EOS in order to take advantage of eos and so this is why I am in the process of getting a least 1 eos token. I believe it is going for about $8 /token these days

Update: Please follow this link
https://steemit.com/eos/@jayem/a-us-citizen-s-book-entry-into-steemit-on-how-to-get-into-the-eos-smart-contract-blockchain-part-2

Sort:  

Hopefully that PM savings should pull you through. Seems like they haven't moved anywhere but sideways for years but once they get moving they go pretty fast.

PMs have been doing an okay job holding my wealth for now. Better than Mt gox.
Do you own cryptos? If a US citiens, what service do you use to transfer to FRN? I know Coinbase is popular.

The only cryptos I own are what you see here in my Steem wallet. I am a US citizen but I haven't tried to cash out yet and from the looks of things steem will probably lose all monetary value for the reasons I outlined in my blogs months ago. I hope you don't lose too much before you cash out over there.

I have not, or do not remember, seeing that post.
I think eos is more than just money. It has world changing implications. Just like steemit it is not just another social media platform.
Odd thing just happened. Yesterday I had 302 followers and now I have 393?

That's pretty weird that you got that popular over night. Then again, it sounds like the work of bots. I've noticed that even the people with many thousands of followers only get a handful of votes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63707.00
ETH 2746.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64