Consensues 2017, EOS.io and WOW the world is getting smaller and smaller

in #eos7 years ago

As most of you know the Consensus 2017 conference is being held this week. Many of the Steemians are at the conference and @roelandp recorded the session where @dantheman introduced EOS to the world. There are many articles posted with this video so please see the @joseph 's post here .


Image Credit - @matt-a

First of all the world is becoming smaller and smaller :) I am sitting in the South of Africa and I was able to view the presentation streamed live as RoelandP broadcasted it through Periscope. This is great technology and fit for its purpose. Thank you @roelandp :)

But that is not what I want to talk about today. I have been working in the Information Technology industry for many years, since early 90's and I can promise you that the most exciting technology that I have seen since the rise of the internet is the Blockchain and the second which I put up there right next to Blockchain is Crypto Currency.

Why am I excited about EOS?

Well many things actually, but if I must single out a single thing in one sentence:

Question: Is there are any blockchains comparable to EOS?

Dan's Answer: No, this is an incremental improvement on Steem and Bitshares. It is the general case to those special cases. It builds on more than 4 years of continuous development and innovation from the Bitshare and Steem Community.

I have learnt many things during my years in developing software, but one thing that I believe we all can agree on, is that new versions of software is usually an improvement on the older software as it includes lessons learnt. Windows 98 was better than Windows 95, and Windows 2000 was better than Windows 98. Each release of Windows made it easier for the non-IT people to adopt the new operating system.

Same with Microsoft Office, Each version learnt from its older versions, and again made it more adoptable by the larger non-techie community.

Microsoft did many good things, but when they did great things, like Windows and Office, they revolutionized the way people are used to doing things.

I do believe that EOS can be seen as a first version of an Operating System which will ensure interoperability between various block chains, but more importantly, it will be the enabling platform, for many future applications to communicate and execute . This is the revolutionary thing about EOS. I believe that EOS are the next step in the evolution of the blockchain industry. In my opinion from a technology perspective, it can be seen as "WebServices" layer for Blockchains. EOS just might become a standard protocol of communication between Blockchain and Decentralised Applications running on Blockchains.

If EOS is a platform that will kill Ethereum? Well I do not really care, as there are space for a lot of new platforms in the blockchain sphere. I do believe that a lot of development companies, need to consider EOS before Ethereum, as the platform is a definite competitor to Ethereum, and it has learnt from their mistakes. Small things like, the ability to scale to millions of users, and the ability to upload human-readable source code directly to the blockchain, will be the main differentiators.

I believe we are standing on the verge of a revolution that will change the way Decentralized Applications communicate with each other. We will also be one of the first development companies looking into the platform. It just might be the platform that we have been waiting for.

Happy Steeming!


Sort:  

I watched the EOS video and I am convinced this is like if Ethereum and Steem had a baby, and the baby took the best traits of its parents, it would be EOS.

@leprechaun
Interesting way of putting it but I agree! Can't wait until it launches!

Now that is a great summary :) Love it!

@jacor
Ethereum has been taking large swings over the past day or so. Big time volatility, as I see it. Their technology is impressive but still might be lacking, due to concerns over scalability, etc. Nevertheless , it's still a beast and has given us quite a ride!
But EOS... This excites me! The idea of transactions zero fees would likely encourage wide-speed adoption of EOS!

@breakingtonight, I fully agree with you. I am just as excited ...

I have nothing against Ethereum :), I just believe everything in the world evolves into something better. So will smart contracts and blockchains.

@jacor
I'm right there with ya! It's like we're on this crypto journey and the technology is only improving as the bugs are getting worked out.

Really looking forward to this! Hope to get in on the ICO. .

I read your steem but as you should know I have no idea what you are talking about but I do have all the confidence in the world that you know what you are doing ty

Im in trouble now as husband says I should not have replied as it shows how stupid I am but I do agree about devopment and windows has really made it easier for old people like us

Why i'm stock in my school when the most cool things happen :@ raaah

Up voted, resteemed, commented.
Follow me all i will follow back :D

Always a pleasure to share my thoughts especially if it is about something I enjoy!

Thank you for posting @jacor.

Very kind of you to keep Steemians posted........it is appreciated.

EOS is simply genius.....looking forward to its launch.

Indeed :)

Thanks for the post, I think as a non-techie, I will have to come over for some one on one tutoring!!

You can come over at any time @rynow

Thanks for the invite

I am also very excited about this. If Dan delivers even half of that EOS promises then this technology will make a blast across the entire ecosystem.

100% Agreed :)

I like this last text :))) HAPPY STEEMING! :))

👍🏻😊

I hope your day is ok :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66895.91
ETH 3499.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89