You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You Ignorant About EOS, STEEM, and DPOS?

in #eos6 years ago (edited)

'.....bit part of it is ignorance..........'
This the case so many times that it's like a self correcting protocol. If you have too much confusion about something than we know that it is time to take a look ate what we are missing.

You shared in the beginning of the video about your experiences with the different aspects of the blockchain since 2013. Those few times when bitcoin was minted essentially out of nothing, block size debates and how a few individuals were pushing their agendas on it. The time when you watched the live fork of bitcoin and the time when mining cartels started to gather power and then essentially centralized the bitcoin................. this all reminded me of something very important.

That tells me how new we all are. It is easy to be overwhelmed by the senior people here in the world of blockchain and forget that all of us are still in the process of learning from the past mistakes. Maybe a century later from now there'll be some ironclad protocols refined over a hundred years but now is the time when the mistakes are going to be made and the most intelligent guy in the block would be the one to learn from them.

Right now we operate in a ecosystem where the onus of taking care of it lies on each and every individual. Just like Steem, where if shortsightedness gets out of hand and value extraction becomes too prevalent than we might see the ethical side of the community take a harsher stand against this abuse.................. its safe to say that not only the process of governance is evolving but the debate (for the governance) itself is evolving.

The human element is far too complicated for the code to encompass so we have to see a greater degree of human involvement in the process of governance. Probably acknowledging the human intention from the beginning is far more easier in the beginning than to be adopted mid journey and here EOS holds a big advantage. The human element is faulty and subject to greed so a consensus is a must.

In my understanding the rise of crypto in 2017 is underestimated. It has done far more than just to push the market cap into hundreds of billions of dollars. It has brought into perspective that what kind of power the people in the developer community of the blockchain can hold in the future.

It is best to bloodied now and take the losses than to be bloodied at the forefront where the level of scrutiny can possibly scare people away. We all can take this time to prepare and improve ourselves.

Just as example - In last October I entered the market thinking of making dollars and it was after that I learned about the idea of the Distributed Ledger and what it could possibly mean. After that I decided to keep the crypto as my currency, the money that is on the blockchain rather than the fiat.

Just a few months ago my roommate and I were talking about some money troubles that we were having and he reminded me that I can sell some of my Steem for the Euro and make up the rent. The first thought that struck me was the fact that I am here to earn Steem and not Euro, so why would I sell it to buy Euros.

This mindset was a much improved version of the one that was six months ago. I am still learning, sure it is taking an inordinate amount of time to just absorb one aspect of this evolving system. There is this tiny part of me that is a little afraid of the next bull run. I know for a fact that when the next ATH arrives, hundreds of people will be asking me for advice and I don't want to be the guy to point people in the wrong direction and I definitely don't want to be the fool who bought what he didn't understand.

Until now I have bought first and studied later, but I am trying to change that.

.............. shit this got really long - sorry for that!

Sort:  

It's a fantastic comment as always, @hashcash. Thanks for giving your perspective.

My pleasure man :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82