You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Explained: Why Aren't More EOS Token Holders Voting? (...and Why They Should)

in #eos6 years ago (edited)

You know, this makes me really annoyed! 'In some cases education may be what's missing'. Eh, yeah! Everyone who bought EOS is not a techie! We don't speak the language! Some of us just believe in the the potential of blockchain and blockchain related products and have severely limited technological abilities. So, where exactly did EOS let its token holders know the process of voting? Is it presumed that if we had the techno know-how to buy the token we are automatically in the techie loop? I have been interested in the crypto scene since I bought my first bitcoin in 2013 but five years later all these bright techno brains seem to be ignoring the fact that many of us tecnodummies are supporting their visions and are not even providing basic non-techie information. Get your act together techie guys! Remember that you are speaking another language, even though it is technically English. And start getting great translators so that those of us that don't speak technese can understand what buttons we need to press to get to the voting platform. Or even to understand that that there is a voting platform that we need to get a translator to help us understand!

Sort:  

I'm sorry you feel frustrated. I've been working hard to help with education such as http://understandingblockchainfreedom.com/ because I do understand not everyone is a technical person.

Could you help me understand which parts of my post were difficult to understand? I'm always trying hard to explain things in simple terms and if I didn't do so in this case, I'd like to now how I failed so I can improve.

I hear your argument, I really do, but please also understand people are constantly asked not to invest in things they don't understand. That's a basic rule of investing. Many, unfortunately, skip that rule because of the promises of huge returns that cryptocurrencies bring, even if the projects are in very, very early development stages and are not yet ready for mass adoption.

In the early days of the Internet, people didn't understand what all the neck-beard hackers were doing then either. The cryptocurrency space is like the Internet in the mid 1990's. Most everything was hard, confusing, and complicated then too. We're very early on here and all of us are working very hard on many things, often giving up sleep and "normal" social lives to do so. I wrote this post about 2 years ago which may help bring some perspective. This stuff is really hard, and we're moving really fast. Once the base foundations are in place, later we get Netflix, but not before. EOS will get there. Much of what we have now was built in the last 30 days. Things are moving very fast, but we also need to give it some time.

That, and education. That's always the key, even if it's out of our comfort zone.

People think "EOS" should do this or that, but many are starting to realize "EOS" is just a bunch of independent people, trying to make things better. It's not like many projects which have a core team which controls every aspect of the system. Block One still builds the core code (for now), but they are not (yet) involved in anything else. As I mentioned in my post, they have promised us secure wallets, but we don't have them yet. It's very early in this whole process.

By all means, vent your frustrations as they are valid. The cryptocurrency space doesn't have a Steve Jobs yet to make everything simple (and by that I mean hide away the complexity that is always really there).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47