Just to confirm I can map my BTS private key?

in #eos7 years ago

Register Your Public Key
At any time a user can map their Ethereum address to a public key in one of the following formats:

  1. EOS Public Keys - EOS4yfYEjUodfs.......DfavaddbvD
  2. Steem Public Keys - STM4yfYEjUoey4.......UaSt2Sx9W4
  3. BitShares Public Keys - BTS5WaszCsqVN9.......Wz47B3wUqa

I just wanted to make sure I'm understanding correctly. That seems pretty vague and just because it can be mapped into one of those formats, doesn't mean that doing so will accomplish my intended use necessarily. The fact that this is necessary but listed in the "Advanced Participation" section feels kind of misleading. A lot of people will tune out when they read the word "advanced." I hope there's going to be like an info campaign in June to let people know or something.

But can somebody confirm that if I map my BitShares public key to my eth address containing EOS, then when the snapshot happens and somebody launches the "official" (for lack of a better word) chain, I will be able to claim my EOS on that chain using my BTS private key?

Sort:  

I think you will be able to claim your real native EOS token when the EOS blockchain is released provided that you have already mapped your EOS public key with your Ethereum wallet.

right, but I'm asking about BTS public keys. it says on the crowdsale (quoted above) that you can map them to an Ethereum key, but will doing so allow me to use the BTS key to claim native EOS tokens when the time comes, or might there be some other use for mapping a BTS key?

crickets eh?

I guess I'll just use that tool like everybody else seems to be doing to generate a proper EOS native key and address just to be safe then...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44